RT Daily Blog

The Story So Far … Brenda Novak Takes us to Whiskey Creek

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a good small-town romance, which is why we’re always excited to spend some more time in Brenda Novak’s Whiskey Creek. This week she’s got a new title out, RT Top Pick! Come Home to Me. We figured this was the perfect time to get up to speed on all the Whiskey Creek happenings. And so Brenda tells us, The Story so Far …

The cover of When Lightening Strikes

When Lightning Strikes: In the first full-length book, we don’t start out in Whiskey Creek. We start with Gail DeMarco, who’s left Whiskey Creek to make it in the big city. She owns a PR firm in Los Angeles where she’s accumulated a roster of A-list clients, including the biggest box office hit of all—Simon O’Neal. But Simon is so busy self-destructing he won’t listen to anything she says. So she drops him—and he retaliates by taking the rest of her clients with him. Desperate, Gail makes a deal with Simon. The one thing he wants is custody of his son. In order to achieve that, he needs to marry some squeaky-clean girl who’ll drag him off to a small, obscure place like Whiskey Creek …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The 100 Recap: Episode 1.2 - "Earth Skills"

BY DJ DeSmyter, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We begin the night with Clarke, Finn, Octavia, and Monty racing through the forest, trying to escape whatever speared Jasper. Monty trips and comes face to face with a strange skeleton that is neither human nor animal. Octavia rightly says, “We’re so screwed.” They hear Jasper screaming and run back, but he’s nowhere to be found. His attackers took him. Poor Jasper…

Back on the Ark, Abby — Clarke’s Mom — checks in on how the 100 are doing, but they have to keep it all hush hush because it turns out the Chancellor hasn’t told the rest of his people what’s going on. Speaking of, the Chancellor staggers in and learns about the lack of communication and apparent deaths of some of the delinquents. (Remember, they’ve been cutting off their tracking device wristbands.) Abby tries to reassure him the kids, including his son, are fine, but we’re not sure he buys it.

Meanwhile, Wells finishes burying a couple bodies. He doesn’t look too pleased and we don’t blame him. When he returns to camp, he finds everyone acting like horny monkeys, and gets into a fight with Bellamy, who’s shirtless. (Yay, shirtlessness!). Wells tries desperately to convince Bellamy there’s too much chaos, but Bellamy doesn’t quite get it yet. Instead, he lets Wells and right hand man Murphy get in a knife fight. Clarke and Co. return to find Wells about to slice and dice Murphy’s neck. Clarke isn’t impressed. The gang gets everyone else caught up on the fact that they’re not alone and why they were sent to Earth.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Everlasting Enchantment by Kathryne Kennedy

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Bride Wore Chocolate by Shirley Jump

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Lying Game by Sara Shepard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Announces The 2014 RITA Award Finalists

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today Romance Writers of America announced the 2014 RITA Award finalists — a fantastic selection of romance authors and titles. We’re pleased to bring you a colorful visual of all the 2014 RITA awards finalists. The winners will be announced at the end of July, at the RWA Annual Conference in San Antonio.

***

Nominated for Best First Book:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eloisa James Gives Five Tips For Surviving Your First Conference Presentation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

You probably already love Eloisa James for her awesome, fun historical romances — her latest, RT Top Pick! Three Weeks with Lady X, is out this week — but did you also know she’s amazing at presenting conference workshops? It’s true! Your RT Web Team are unabashed fans. As the RT Convention and our time in NOLA quickly approaches, we asked Eloisa for some tips for all you first-time presenters prepping your workshops now. Take it away, Eloisa!

The cover of Three Weeks with lady X

Writers are famously solitary by nature, but these days, even the most hermit-like of authors must force herself out of the cave. Authors need a platform, a presence on the internet and at conferences. Giving a presentation can be frightening, but with the right preparation, it can also be lots of fun and result in a burst of enthusiastic readers. Here are my five tips for acing your workshop.

1. Figure out what you know.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Social Sunday

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sunday is the last day of the RT Convention, and we plan on having fun til the very last second! Our Sunday Social events are laid back, fun activities full of insights that will serve as the perfect way to end our week-long New Orleans extravaganza. We already gave you a sneak peek at Sunday's SOS America Military Salute in our  post, and today we’ve got the down low on the rest of Sunday’s events! Take a look:

Pin the Kilt on the Highlander

When: Sunday, May 18 from 11:15 am - 12:45 pm

Where: 2nd Floor, Gallery 2

What: There’s no denying that a kilt makes a man infinitely sexier. So join Scottish romance authors Eliza Knight, Terry Spear and Mary Wine (aka Dawn Ryder) for an afternoon of fun, games, prizes and all things kilt!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Solaris by Stanislaw Lem

It’s not a science fiction story but a philosophical and religious allegory: an imperfect man living an imperfect love through an imperfect god. Deep, touching and above all not boring like both movies.

Plot: A scientist tries to study a planet while the planet tries to study the scientist.

Rating: 94 out of 100.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

The best soap opera of all time: a romantic story that feels almost real. You will try and read it in one shot and when it comes to an ends you'll get the feeling that life is just a bunch of details here and there.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Take a Roman Holiday with Ruthie Knox: The Finale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, dear readers. It's finally here. The finale to contemporary romance star Ruthie Knox's serialization, Roman Holiday. We'll be honest, the three-month break between halves was tough. (We recapped the first half, starting here.) As romance fans, we want our HEA, and we want it now. Having to wait several months, while we read a bunch of other great books, made us forget why we loved Ashley, why we wanted Roman to come out of his shell. But we're happy to report that once the second half of Roman Holiday gets rolling (pun intended, and also, it's being released in one big chunk, so no more waiting, yay!), it's a really lovely, wonderful romance. How much did we like it? Let us count the ways!

The Cover of Roman Holiday: The Adventure Continues

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside the Soul: Rachel Vincent Reflects on Her Soul Screamers Series And Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the release of the fourth and final Soul Screamers compilation volume, which graces shelves today, Rachel Vincent is officially finishing this chapter of her writing career. Readers have stuck by Kaylee, the series's fiery heroine, through thick and thin, and we're sure it's just as hard for them to say goodbye as it is for Rachel. We recently asked Rachel to reflect on her time writing the series and what readers can look forward to next. And be sure to stay tuned at the end for a special giveaway! Rachel, take it away!

With the publication of the final Volume 4 compilation next week, the Soul Screamers series will officially be drawing to a close after four and a half years, seven novels and six novellas/short stories. My Soul To Take was my first foray into the young adult side of publishing. Soul Screamers represents the most I’ve ever written in a single series and the longest I’ve ever spent in a fictional world, so for me, this the end of an era. Saying goodbye to the characters is difficult, but I’m feeling both nostalgic and optimistic.

The cover of Soul Screamers: Volume Four


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.11 - "Settling"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

In Bitten 1.11, “Settling”, asses are kicked and names are taken!

After a night alone in a big ol’ bed with no calls, Elena is a wreck. “I can’t reach Philip!” she tells henley-clad Clay. Clay, who just got off the phone with Jeremy, shelves the romantic pathos for the pressing issue: “We’re under attack!” He tells her that Jeremy and Nick are coming, and they’ll collect Logan and go home. As for Rachel? They’ll put her some place safe. Still, Philip is first on Elena’s mind.

Clay and his henley get to the point.

source

At Logan’s townhouse, he charges his dead cellphone and calls Rachel in a panic. She’s at the gallery cleaning up … as Karl Marsten walks in. Still on the line, Logan freaks out. Karl makes a few quips and, having made his point, directs Rachel, “I believe someone is yelling into your hand, my dear. It must be terribly important.” (Oh, Karl, I almost love you even though you’re not played by Clive Owen.) Logan tries to dial down his shit-losing and keeps Rachel on the phone, talking to him about the gallery fracas.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST