RT Daily Blog

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Croco Designs logoSelf-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Today with us is Frauke Spanuth, owner and creative director for Croco Designs. We hope you enjoy all Frauke has to say, and come back next week for part two! 

***

What should a self-published author keep in mind when working with a cover artist?

As a self-published author you are also in charge of all tasks a publisher usually takes care of. You have to keep a publication schedule as well as a budget in mind, so availability and pricing may be most important for you. But please keep in mind that if a cover is poorly executed, people may also think your book is of poor quality. It’s said that one should not judge a book by its cover, but very often people still do.  


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Location, Location, Location: How the Big Easy Inspired Mur Lafferty, Kristen Painter — And Their Vampires

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

That's it, we're calling it. 2014 is the year of New Orleans in book publishing. There are so many sexy, spooky, spectacular NOLA-set books being put out this year, we'd be planning a trip — if we weren't already going for this year's RT Convention! Today two New Orleans-inspired authors, Mur Lafferty and Kristen Painter, share what makes the Big Easy such a ripe setting for fiction and their recent releases, Lafferty's Ghost Train to New Orleans and Painter's House of the Rising Sun.

***

New Orleans has a special connection with vampires — how did you tackle that particular creature in your book?

Mur Lafferty: I actually didn't, for the most part. My main vampire characters were the ones who came from New York City, and NOLA vampires were bit parts. But my vampires are pretty standard — drink blood, powerful ones can fly, they're faster than people, can mesmerize. I did cover more vampires in the travel guide sections in the book, telling some of the local history from the POVs of various monsters. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Duke of Her Own by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Just the Sexiest Man Alive by Julie James

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Your New Adult Guide To New Orleans Hot Spots

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Booze, sunshine, skimpy clothes and, of course, hook ups with hot guys! What could be better? The four authors of Avon's latest erotic new adult anthology, Spring Fling, agree, as they've each contributed a story young women spending their spring breaks in New Orleans — we couldn't think of a better setting — and finding true love — or just some hot, hot loving. With the upcoming RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans this May, we asked each author to share their favorite New Orleans hot spots. Because who knows, maybe we'll relive a spring break moment or two. (We behaved, Mom, we swear.)

***

Julia Kent: The allure of Maison Bourbon, New Orleans’ notorious jazz club, isn’t the music. What draws me in is the sense of timelessness, of enormity. Those first hesitant steps across the threshold of a jazz bar in the wee hours of the night make me feel like I'm crossing over into world unknown. The music turns into my own pulse as my senses take over. The air is redolent of a part of myself I know I possess, but that is too buried to be known just yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Mardi Gras World Carnivále!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Besides the fantastic food and rich history, New Orleans is most famous for Mardi Gras. And although this year’s festivities are now sadly over, RT Convention attendees can still experience the celebrations by joining us on Wednesday, May 14 at 7:15pm** for Mardi Gras World Carnivále! This all-night extravaganza is co-sponsored by a host of today’s leading publishers, and you will not want to miss it. Trust us.

Attendees will get an intimate look at the floats used in the Mardi Gras parade.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

A world just a bit more extreme than ours created by a talented writer who will hold your attention for many pages — but not all of them. Tons of footnotes in a book with so many pages made me stop reading at page six hundred-and-something. 

Plot: In an allegorical world where everyone’s on drugs, some allegorical (and addicted) characters are looking for the ultimate drug.

Rating: 73 out of 100.

The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Chest Hair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

With all these mega alpha heroes on the romance scene as of late, is it any wonder that heroes with chest hair have begun popping up on covers? We for one love the follicular diversity! (And we never could picture some hot, hot Navy SEAL having time to save the world, sex up the girl and wax his chest. So it just makes good sense.) We're not the only ones who've noticed, last month author Sarah M. Anderson was waxing on (or ... off?) about manscaping. So what do you think? Do you like your cover candy bare or more … natural?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Haiku 4 U: March Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Every month your RT Web Team examines the books releasing. We plot and plan how best to cover them for you. Sometimes the process becomes almost … meditative, as we ogle the book covers and back cover copy. So it makes sense (in our minds, anyway) that we've come up with a new feature: Haiku 4 U. In it, we'll cover a genre trend in that beloved 5-7-5 syllable format, and then wax on about why these titles are the ones for you. Join us in the mindful exercise, or just check out the reads we recommend!

This month’s best mysteries feature blasts from the past!

The past, it lingers

We must learn from our mistakes

Only if we can


   

PAST MURDERS …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.9 - "Vengeance"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, MARCH 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Bitten 1x9, “Vengeance,” is all about ch-ch-changes. So, crank up the Bowie!

We open on Nick and Jeremy sparring on the Stonehaven grounds (because Bitten loves me), as Big J advises Nick on the value of self control. Jeremy hopes story time will underscore his lessons. Flash back to 1984, with a very young Antonio and a wee baby Nick (because Bitten loves me A LOT). Jimmy Koenig, who looked like Mick Jagger and Benicio del Toro’s love child, was sent to bring them home to Stonehaven after Antonio left Nick’s mother. With wee baby Nick in a car seat nearby, Koenig made Tony choke a mutt to death. Not because it was the Alpha’s price for returning but “just for the sport of it,” says Jeremy. “Don’t lose your focus.”

Koenig can’t get no satisfaction.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 3/11/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

AN HEIR OF UNCERTAINTY

"This is a mystery rolled into a love story that is both exciting and tender. The culprit is unexpected and well- concealed. One standout is Freddie with his orderly existence and obsession with pigeons."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST