BLOG UPDATE: For ongoing coverage of the YA genre, please check the links at the bottom of this page.

For many of us, September means “back to school.” And whether you are headed into the classroom as a student or a teacher, or just remembering the sensation of being in class, what better time for a month-long celebration of young adult novels?

This hot genre is bursting with great books for fall. In our September issue, for the first time ever, we had six YA Top Picks! These six reads are a great cross-section of what is going on in the genre, and are hitting shelves this month. We can't wait!

One of the best things about YA is the variety the genre offers, and our top pick selections show just that. There are authors continuing their series in unexpected ways, like the prequel to Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series, Clockwork Angel. There are well-known authors moving in new directions, like historical romance author Sophie Jordan making her YA debut with Firelight. There are great contemporary tales, like RT award winner Natalie Standiford's latest, Confessions of the Sullivan Sisters, Simone Elkeles' Return to Paradise, and newcomer (and teen!) Kody Keplinger's The Duff.

September even sees debut the of a vampire tale that made our reviewer stand up and take notice, with Rebecca Maizel's Infinite Days. With so much going on in the genre, we can't wait to share it all with you this month.

Join us on the RT Daily Blog all September for a full month of YA coverage. We'll be tracking trends and delivering more behind-the-scenes action than ever before. You can expect to see more *Web Exclusive Reviews* of entire YA series. We're going to take you on book tour with some of our favorite YA authors. We will also be bringing you more in-depth author interviews and videos, more book excerpts for you to "test drive" these new releases with, and of course, we will be hosting lots of great giveaways.

 

So if you love YA or are new to the genre, headed back to school or not, this month we will help you enjoy hitting the (YA) books!

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/1/2010: Here we go with the very first of September's awesome giveaways, Melissa Marr, Kelley Armstrong and Alyson Noel are giving away their entire series. Get The Details >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/3/2010: The RT editors share their feelings about the long-awaited release of Mockingjay. Read Their Review >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/8/2010: Check out these two mag-nificent YA giveaways (and pardon our pun). Learn More >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/8/2010: YA author Lucienne Diver stops by for a video interview. And don't miss the *web exclusive review* of her new release! Watch It Now >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/9/2010: We take an in-depth look at the way sisters are portrayed in YA. Read More >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/10/2010:  Jennifer Lynn Barnes takes us behind the scenes of Raised By WolvesWatch The Interview >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/13/2010:  We spotlight The Contemps, a new website run by a group of YA authors who love contemporary YA reads. We catch up with site co-founder Lisa Schroeder for an inside look at what fans expect from the site now and in the future. Read All About The Contemps >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/14/2010:  Some of the authors from The Contemps share what they love about writing (and reading) contemporary YA novels. Get The Scoop >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/15/2010: Author Melissa Marr reports back from the first night of the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour in Austin, TX and we announce the Smart Chicks Kick It Giveaway Winners. Learn More >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/16/2010: YA author Marley Gibson shares her top ten tips for teen ghost hunters and check out the *Web Exclusive Reviews* for this series. Ghost Hunt Safely! >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/17/2010: Five lucky winners will get their own six-book set of this month's YA top picks. Enter To Win >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/21/2010: Author Alyson Noël brings us the latest from the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour - this time they were in AZ! Check It Out >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/22/2010: Author Melissa de la Cruz reports back from the Pasadena, CA stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Get The Details >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/22/2010: YA author Cate Tiernan takes RT's first ever Quick Takes quiz. Check Out Her Answers >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/23/2010: Ally Carter chats about her new series starter Heist Society and her popular Gallagher Girls series in this video interview. Watch It Now >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/27/2010: YA author Carrie Ryan shares details from the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour's latest stop in Naperville, IL. Get The Details >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/27/2010: In this video interview author Lauren Oliver gives readers a special behind-the-scenes look at her debut, Before I Fall, as well as sharing advice for teens and chatting about her upcoming projects. Watch It Now >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/28/2010: Author Jeri Smith-Ready wraps up our coverage from the last stop of the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour in Canada. Read More >>

 

BLOG UPDATE 9/30/2010: For the end of September's YA Month, we look ahead to the upcoming titles we can't wait to get our hands on! Find Out What They Are >>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL PRINT SHARE PERMALINK