RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily — in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Debut Author Spotlight: Darcie Wilde On Lord of the Rakes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Historical fans, ready to add a new author to your must-read pile? Then let us introduce Darcie Wilde. Her debut, Lord of the Rakes, captivated RT reviewer extraordinaire Kathe Robin, who called the romance, “a lively, original and highly sensual love story.” We wanted to know more about how Darcie's career got started and what readers can expect from her new romance, so we tracked her down to get some answers.

***

Name: Darcie Wilde

Book: Lord of the Rakes

Genre: Historical Romance

Current Home: Ypsilanti, Michigan

Author Icon: Georgette Heyer. Brilliant writer, incredible work ethic.

Favorite Word: Jabberwock

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

No. The first book I ever wrote was a very bad time travel romance called Love's Own Time. 

How did you start writing?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Amanda Quick's Otherwise Engaged

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? Today we’ve got a great one for you. Amanda Quick, aka Jayne Ann Krentz, is retuning to historical romantic suspense, and we couldn’t be more excited! Otherwise Engaged publishes April 22, but we’ve got the back cover copy to parse in the meantime. Let’s check it out:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Sweet Release by Pamela Clare

 

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Wedding Favor by Cara Connelly

 

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

New Adult

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seven Valentine's Day Recipes From Mystery Lovers' Kitchen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who do you turn to when you're looking to make something tasty for your sweetie this Valentine's Day? Why, cozy mystery authors, of course! (Who did you think we'd say, Martha Stewart?) After all, many of them craft their suspenseful stories around decadent treats. Today, the lovely ladies from Mystery Lovers' Kitchen are here to share their favorite V-Day dishes, sweet and savory, and best of all? You can take all the credit!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Sizzling New Adult Fun

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying New Adult is one of the hottest genre in the book world these days. With its universal themes, red-hot romance and addictive plots, it’s not hard to see why readers — and writers! — are clamoring for more, more, more New Adult! That's why at this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, NA is taking NOLA by storm! Take a look:

New Adult authors at a 2013 RT Convention panel. From L to R: Sophie Jordan, Cora Carmack, Molly McAdams, Abbi Glines and moderator Elissa Petruzzi


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Historical Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who hasn't dreamt of a custom wardrobe? Heading to a well-known seamstress to be draped and pinned into beautiful fabrics, all selected to perfectly compliment your complexion and shape? Well that doesn't happen much anymore outside of wedding gowns, but we can live vicariously through this month's historical recommendations, as we shine the spotlight on our recent favorite books featuring dressmakers. So throw on your favorite frock, grab a glass of wine and cozy up with these exciting books!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Part 1, "Tempts Me"

BY Elisa Verna, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for another RT Read Along — where we ask you to join us in reading a brand new e-serial from one of our favorite authors. This time I'm tackling Megan Hart's new five-part erotic serial Every Part of You. For the next five Tuesdays I'll be posting a recap of each serial section. The good, the bad and the smutty — it'll all be here. So join me, won't you? This week I begin with part one, "Tempts Me." And oh, what an accurate title!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marissa Meyer: Fairy Tales I Probably Won't Adapt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

With her unique and addicting YA sci-fi fairy tale retellings, Marissa Meyer has quickly won over readers and Cress, the latest installment, is one of today's hottest releases. Like most of you, we just can't get enough of Marissa's inventive spins on popular fairy tales. But curious minds want to know which fairy tales Marissa would never retell. Here's what she had to say:

My young adult series, The Lunar Chronicles, combines four classic fairy tale retellings into one continuous good-against-evil, space-operatic plot. The books borrow from “Cinderella,” “Little Red Riding Hood,” “Rapunzel” and “Snow White and the Seven Dwarves” — four beloved tales — but turns them on their head by adding cyborgs and mind-controlling aliens and a deadly plague. It’s been a lot of fun seeing what I can create using these classic archetypes as a jumping-off-point.

But that said, here are four fairy tales that I probably won’t be retelling any time soon...

Beauty and the Beast


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far … Jaci Burton's Play-by-Play Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve seen the covers. We know you have. Jaci Burton’s Play-by-Play series has surely been blessed by the cover gods. And because we also love what’s inside these books so much — including the latest release, out this week, Melting the Ice — we thought we’d get Jaci to give us the inside scoop on each of the seven titles in the series. That way if you’re not caught up, or aren’t sure where to start, you’ll have a primer ready the next time you’re book shopping. And so here’s The Story So Far … for Jaci Burton’s Play-by-Play series.

 

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST