RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Sue Grafton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling mystery author Sue Grafton is best known for her Kinsey Milhone novels (also affectionately called the alphabet mysteries for their clever titles). The series is 22 books in and still going strong. The latest book in the series, 2011's V is for Vengeance, was rated an RT Top Pick! In today's interview with RT's Stephanie, Grafton shares her views on the psychology of violence, talks about the narrative directions she's taken with her stories and the ways that she keeps the series fresh. (One of these ways is that she works hard to capture Kinsey "in the moment" and not think too far ahead, in fact she doesn't even know what the title for her W mystery will be!) Plus, find out what the author thinks she'll do after she wraps up Kinsey's final alphabet adventure!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Which Paranormal Heroes Make Your Heart Flutter? — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

The paranormal heroes of May swept us off our feet. Their good looks, intriguing backstories and myriad of “super” skills have sparked a heated debate the merits of dating an angel, sorcerer and beyond. Today we are letting these gentlemen face off, so you can decide who you’d want to share your happily ever after with. And if you let us know which man has stolen your heart by leaving a comment on this post and you’ll be entered to win a paranormal prize pack!


 

Darkest Caress

by Kaylea Cross

Meet The Man: Daegan Blackwell, naturally magical

His Story: This 2,000-year-old — but very well preserved, if you know what we mean — is "Empowered", one of the last of his kind, a breed of magical people on the brink of extinction.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trends: Angel Wings — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

The newest class of angels featured in upcoming romance novels inspire some very passionate feelings in our hearts. One glance at these covers, and it’s easy to see why these heavenly beings have us positively wrapped around their fingers. It doesn't seem to matter what color these wings are or if they are made of smoke or tattoos, we bet you won’t be thinking of cherubs, halos or pearly gates when you take flight with any of the stories below. Plus, we're giving readers a chance to win two of these titles at the end of this post!

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Contemporary Romance - If you love to read romances set in far-flung locations, then be sure to keep an eye on the upcoming set of books from Robyn Grady. The Goddess begins a series about couples whose relationships are altered by a set of unusual artifacts. These stories sound spooky and sexy all at once, just the way we like them!

Urban Fantasy - Adriana Ryan will thrust readers into a world of supernaturally-able humans with her upcoming project featuring "the Awakened". This group has powers that ordinary humans don’t because they share a mysterious heritage. Want to learn more? You can get your first look at them in Enlightened when this series first is released in Spring 2013.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/10/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wondering if you're carrying The Bull Rider's Baby?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: We share five reasons to read Robyn Carr's latest. Visit Sunrise Point >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Siblings are stirring up trouble in these historical romances. Scandals Abound >>

SERIES ROMANCE: May's Harlequin Medical romances are hot, hot, hot! Get A Glimpse >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Anything You Want By Erin Nicholas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

Anything You Want kicked off Erin Nicholas’ contemporary romance series, Anything & Everything. So what do you get when you mix a pregnant wannabe singer with the town she’s always hated and the one man who refuses to fall for her “little ole me” act? A tale of modern-day love that will thrill fans of Rachel Gibson, Victoria Dahl and Susan Elizabeth Phillips … and the first book that we are devouring for our month of Dishing about e-reads!

Morgan: I know that a romance author’s job is to throw obstacles onto the path to true love, but the perils and pitfalls that Sabrina and Marc face are really quite tremendous.

Whitney: Agreed! Like it’s not enough that heroine Sabrina unexpectedly pregnant and her baby’s father is not in the picture ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Governing Our Hearts: The Nannies Of Historical Romance In 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

With over four months of 2012 already under our belts, we’ve been noticing a curious trend — the governesses are missing! A time-honored traditional occupation of historical romance heroines, women employed to watch over other peoples' children are a staple of the genre. Back in 2011, we met eleven historical heroines who found love while taking care of small people did so in books that received RT ratings of four stars or higher. (And of these eleven novels, five of the books included the word “governess” in the title!) So who is taking care of children so far this year? So far, it's been a mix and match bag ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Dani Pettrey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Dani Pettrey

Book: Submerged

Current Home: Maryland

Job (when not writing): Homeschool mom 

Author Icon: I’ve been inspired by so many writers, but if I had to pick just one, I would definitely say Dee Henderson. She’s a phenomenal story teller and such an inspiring person.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: Two under the bed and two more that may still see publication one day :)

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: From the first thought of "maybe I’ll write a book" to contract was seven years.

Can you give us a rundown of writing Submerged?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places Now Accepting Manuscripts, May Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, we know that it can be disheartening to look out into the abyss of potential publishing houses and only see the same old phrase, “no unsolicited manuscripts accepted.” These days many of the major publishing houses rely on their ties with literary agents and in-house promotions to find new authors. But don’t despair; today we’ve come up with a list of nine places — from off-the-beaten path publishers to special back doors of the big-name houses — that would welcome your query letter, manuscript or submission. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we feature some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

A Study In Scandal by Robyn DeHart

Buy For 99 Cents >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Unbreak My Heart by Helen Scott Taylor

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

From the Two Rivers by Robert Jordan

Buy For 99 Cents >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST