RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: Larissa Ione's Apocalypse

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Every year at the RT Booklovers Convention's Giant Book Fair, there is a breakout author. Amidst the sea of writers autographing, one author will have a line so long that it will wrap around the entire event. This year, the one to watch was Larissa Ione. A writer of the paranormal romance variety, Ione is known for creating great characters, complex plots and steamy, steamy reads and her newest series, Lords of Deliverance, is incredibly popular. Featuring the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse, these books have readers' hearts racing, desperate for more end of the world action! This month, Ione is feeding our need with the next novel in her series, Lethal Rider and "Apocalypse," an e-only compendium about the series. Included in "Apocalypse" is a behind the scenes look at the author's sexy heroes, daring heroines and smashing series. This 99-cent buy also sports a terrific short story that will have readers wanting more. Whether you are already a fan or are just getting your first taste of Ione's Lords, enjoy this RT-exclusive excerpt from the new e-short "Apocalypse".

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cover Chat: Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter's The Long Earth

BY Janine Johnston, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are few things more enjoyable than a fresh new release from a fan favorite bestselling author … except for a fresh new release from two fan favorite bestselling authors. And we have Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter to thank for this gem of good reading fortune.

Pratchett is renowned as the king of humorous, oddball fantasy. His Discworld series is still going strong at 39 books, with about a new book in the series releasing every year since it began in 1983. However, the man hasn’t written a science fiction story in nearly 30 years. On the other hand, Baxter is a prolific hard science fiction writer. His stories about space, aliens and, more recently ecological disasters in his Northland trilogy are influenced by his background as a mathematician and engineer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Curvy Girls Anthology Edited By Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Honestly, looking at me it wouldn’t be hard to figure out, but because many of us RT staff members go without a face (unless you happen to catch us at a RT Convention) I’m going to go ahead and preface this post with a piece of information. It’s not the first time I admit this, but I rarely lead with this Fun Fact About Elisa: I’m a curvy girl. It’s the truth, I’ve got some extra stuff in some places. And you know what? I’m pretty okay with it. Living in New York City can kind of make me feel like the only Big Girl in the world at times, but overall, I think my body is pretty rockin’. So when I came across the Curvy Girls erotica anthology, edited by Rachel Kramer Bussel, I knew I’d be reading it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May 2012: Which Self-Published Story Is Right For You? Take The Quiz!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying it, self-publishing is booming and the result is an enormous amouts of great books ready for readers. Each month in the RT magazine we take a look at some of the authors and titles in our new “Self-pub Hub” column and in our review sections. But with so many books, how do you choose which one to try first? Well, now you can take our simple quiz and we’ll help you figure out which new self-published book from this month’s issue is your next read!

***

I like a book that is filled with:

A) Long-hidden secrets

B) Everyday challenges

C) Revenge plots

D) Supernatural adventure

 

You never know when you might need:

A) A pair of rain boots and an umbrella, so you are ready for any storm

B) A bike, so you can get away from it all

C) A laptop with a 4G wireless connection, so you are always connected

D) A book of spells, so you can use your special abilities

 

Your celebrity idol is:

A) Diane Lane

B) Kate Hudson

C) Michelle Rodriguez

D) Amanda Seyfried

 

Your always fall for a hero that:

A) Has a problem his buckets of money can't fix

B) Is hard-working and steadfast

C) Has a code of honor that is black and white

D) Believes in doing his duty, no matter the personal cost

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Paula Quinn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Paula Quinn has just released Conquered by a Highlander, the fourth book in her popular Children of the Mist series. All four books received a rating of RT Top Pick! In today's interview with RT's Morgan, the author reveals how she uses real-life politics and religion in the series. Quinn also lets us in on why this new release is very close to her heart. And then don't miss your chance to find out what's ahead for this talented writer. (If you were wishing for more Highlanders, you might get your heart's desire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions With Elizabeth Lowell On Hew New Release Beautiful Sacrifice — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Elizabeth Lowell is one of the undeniable queens of romance, having written everything from historicals to contemporaries and beyond. In recent years she’s made her writing home straddling the line between mystery and romantic suspense. However, her latest novel, Beautiful Sacrifice, places her firmly on the romance side of the divide. Today we snag five minutes (and five questions) with the incomparable Lowell on Beautiful Sacrifice’s release date! Plus, learn how you can snag your own copy of Lowell's new release at the end of this post!

***

From the outside, it seems like Beautiful Sacrifice heroine Lina, the professor, is the brain and hero Hunter, the security expert is the brawn. But your characters are certainly more complex than this. Besides her intelligence and his protective instinct, what do you consider your characters' greatest strengths?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 5/22/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE TAMING OF A SCOTTISH PRINCESS

"A quick-moving, dramatic plot populated with memorable characters, witty and humorous dialogue and sizzling sensuality makes this her best yet — a tale to reread."

CONQUERED BY A HIGHLANDER

"While fascinating as a romance, it also delivers a message about moral courage. Definitely a keeper."

IF THE SLIPPER FITS

" ... [Drake] kicks off The Cinderella Sisterhood with a tale filled with gothic overtones, sensuality, sprightly dialogue, emotion, an engaging cast and a beautiful pair of perfectly fitting slippers."

ONE NAUGHTY NIGHT

"McKee sweeps readers into an enthralling story with memorable characters, a powerful plot and plenty of passion ... "


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Karen Kelley And Demon Destiny Talk Stealing Souls In Where There's Smoke

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

When your only shot at survival is stealing a soul, then it is best to get down to business. But just how do you go about reaping a soul? Author Karen Kelley's newest heroine Destiny from Where There's Smoke may not be the best person to ask since she is so new to the game. As a demon-in-training, Destiny has been saddled with a dark assignment: she can't return to hell unless she brings back one fresh soul with her. In today's guest post, the author shares a bit about Destiny and then the heroine herself explains exactly why she has targeted one good looking cowboy to seduce and lead back to the underworld (or at least that's the plan...)

Destiny is a wannabe demon, but what's a girl to do when she’s kicked out of Hell and only has a week to steal a soul — or else? And why did they tack on or else? She’s already been sent to Hell once. At least she was there. For Destiny there’s only one thing she can do, she heads straight for the sinfully corruptible looking cowboy sitting at the bar and let me tell you — all hell breaks loose!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Superhero Reading List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With The Avengers movie cracking the $1 billion mark in just over two weeks, superheroes are "super hot" right now. And if Iron Man, the Hulk and Thor have you wishing for more musclebound heroics, we are here to help with some great adventure romance stories featuring cape-d, sometimes spandex-ed and mostly masked heroes and heroines who will have you dreaming of extraordinary feats …

 

 

Thief of Shadows

by Elizabeth Hoyt

Meet the Superhero: The Ghost of St. Giles

Why You Need To Know Him: He’s “Batman in Georgian England.”

Some Backstory: The Ghost has played an important part in Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series but now the man behind the mask gets his happily ever after … or does he? It’s a story about finding love right under your nose (and sometimes right under a mask) in this July release that was rated an RT Top Pick!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Mystery - Stephanie Bond takes on two estranged sisters as the heroines of her upcoming books. The Two Guys Detective Agency series will follow the Guy sisters, who set aside their differences to invest in a struggling PI agency in a strip mall. We look forward to seeing if working together will help these two siblings bridge the gap that’s formed between them — of if being co-workers will simply drive them further apart.

Young Adult - For Sarah Zettel’s next historical adventure, she tells the story of an orphan who assumes the identity of a lady-in-waiting. But there’s a reason this series is called The Palace Intrigue Diaries. Nothing is as it seems: the original lady-in-waiting was murdered, the court is full of spies and the young artist who has caught our heroine’s eye may be her only ally — or her enemy. We can’t wait for the drama, lucky for us it will begin in Fall 2013 with Scandal’s Daughter!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST