RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Behind The Scenes: The Epic Cover Shoot For Kristen Callihan's Soulbound

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week I had the pleasure of attending the cover shoot of Kristen Callihan’s sixth Darkest London novel, Soulbound, releasing next year from Forever. Walking into my first cover shoot, I had a lot of questions. Would the hero and heroine be photographed together, as we’ve seen  on her more recent book covers? Would it just be the heroine solo, like on the covers of Firelight and Moonglow? Or perhaps we’d see the first solo hero cover in the series? And if there was a hero, would he be without a shirt? Who mists these shirtless heroes? Or are they oiled? All very important questions, of course.

The shoot took place in a very nondescript building that Chris Rock and his bodyguards were casually standing in front of (I didn’t see him, but Kristen’s editor Alex Logan had a slightly awkward encounter. Apparently he was also having photos taken.). Because of course he was, this is New York.

Kristen knew just as much about the cover shoot as I did (this was her first, too!), and told me authors typically have little to no involvement in their cover designs, and she’s lucky to even be consulted before the covers are finalized. She told me that a general rule of thumb for authors is “If you want to complain about your cover, you have to approach it from a marketing standpoint,” and to always remember that a cover design is somebody’s work, and they spent hours creating it. For this Soulbound cover, she jokingly requested David Gandy, whom she envisioned at the book’s hero. Although they couldn’t get Gandy, the model they did hire definitely shared his dark features.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: DJ's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, assistant web editor DJ DeSmyter brings us some ideas for the gentlemen attending RT this year.


Mardi Gras World Carnivále

 

 

Bright colors are always great choices for Mardi Gras celebrations, so a neon green t-shirt and purple shorts are perfect selections. Throw in a classic fedora hat and comfy shoes, both gray to add some neutrality to the ensemble, and we have a simple, comfortable, yet fun outfit for the Carnivale! Full outfit details here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: 1.6 - "His Sister's Keeper"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Seventeen years ago, a young Bellamy tries to comfort his mother, who’s in labor. As most TV births turn out, it’s a relatively easy ordeal and Bellamy decides to name his new sister after emperor Augustus’s sister Octavia.

Gee, Mom, no pressure or anything.
source

Present day, Octavia wakes up, injured and alone, in a dark cavern of sorts. The Grounder who took her comes in and lunges at her with a white-hot metal stake. She blacks out.

After looking for his sister with Clarke’s help, Bellamy organizes a search party. Raven’s giving Finn a haircut and he wants to tell her what happened between him and Clarke. Naturally, he doesn’t and instead catches up with Clarke and tells her he likes her slightly more. Before the gang sets out, they see the bodies of the people they killed on the Ark falling in the sky like meteors. Determined now more than ever to make contact with the Ark, Clarke and Raven set out to find a new transmitter.

When Octavia wakes up — again — she discovers the Grounder fixed her wound. Now that she’s all patched up, she manages to escape the cave. But as her brother and the others get closer to finding her, they come across a bunch of skeletons, a warning sign from the Grounders.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

White Lion's Lady by Lara Adrian

Get It On Amazon For Free >>

Get It On B&N For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

A Sweet Life boxed set by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fanning the Spark: Debut Inspirational Author Emily T. Wierenga on Marriage and Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Marriage is great, certainly, but it doesn't always resemble a romance novel. After years together, sometimes the spark dims as your time is taken over by kids, chores and work. (Don't get us started on the never ending trips to the grocery store.) But there's hope! Today we have debut inspirational novelist Emily T. Wierenga, who's here to ruminate on her marriage, when she first met her husband (college sweethearts!) how it all contributed to her romance, A Promise in Pieces.

The cover of A Promise in Pieces

He had one break dance move, and he used it that afternoon, in the townhouse packed with college students, him in the middle of the rough textile carpet, dancing.

I had a soda in my hand and the air smelled of musk and potato chips. It was the first time I’d seen him—the long-legged, muscular farm boy with the shy smile and the large hazel eyes. We spent the rest of the night in the kitchen, him sitting on the counter and me standing close enough to see the freckle on his right cheek. And he told me about life growing up in a Dutch hamlet.

I didn’t know then that one day we’d make a life in that hamlet, too, with two little boys and a large triangular garden, all I knew was that his one break-dance move had made this preacher’s daughter feel sinful.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Mystery/Thriller Genre Tracks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Everybody enjoys a good thrill now and then, a spine-chilling mystery to get their hearts racing and their minds obsessing over clues. At this year’s RT Convention, some of today’s hottest voices from the mystery and thriller world will gather for exciting panels, lively conversations and valuable insights into today’s market. Let’s take a look, shall we?

First up, we have “The Violence Factor: Why Are So Many People Fascinated With Violence?” thriller panel on Wednesday, May 14. Join authors Tess Gerritsen, Anderson Harp, David Morrell, L.J. Sellers and F. Paul Wilson as they discuss violence in thrillers and how it can drive a story. They’ll also discuss where the line should be drawn, and what makes violence so fascinating.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gena Showalter’s Favorite Dark Paranormal Heroes - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Paranormal romance heroes are all sorts of special. They brood with a capital B, often have superhuman strength and, somehow, because of their magical supernatural-ness, are infinitely more attractive than any measly ol' man. Plus, they're ferociously loyal and will defend their women 'til death. We caught up with Gena Showalter, who has written a delicious paranormal hero or 50, and asked her which paranormal heroes make her swoon. And don't forget to scroll down, because we've got an opportunity for U.S. readers to win a signed, personalized copy of Showalter's next Angels of the Dark book, Burning Dawn.

The cover of Burning Dawn by Gena Showalter

Over the years, I’ve collected a delicious stable of book boyfriends. I love the dark and tortured best. There’s something so shiver-worthy about a pitiless warrior finally ceding control of his heart to that one special woman.

In my mind, that woman is always me. Probably why I’m so possessive of my males.

Here are some of my favorites:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
40COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Tao Te Ching by Laozi

The Tao (道, literally the Way or the Path ) is actually a road that leads nowhere, because you are already there and you just have to notice. One of the wisest religions, with the best logo ever.

Plot: "The name that can be defined is not the unchanging name."

Rating: 99.9 out of 100

Siddhartha by Herman Hesse

I read Hesse's novels when I was young and never really liked them. Hesse simplifies depth: that’s the reason why you read him, why he never satisfies you and why his greatest simplification (Siddhartha) is his most famous work.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laila Blake On How Writers Can Move Away From Sexually Objectifying Women In Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

What we consume in popular culture can affect how we see the world and each other. Even our beloved romance novels can change how we look at other people, and ourselves. Today Laila Blake is with us to talk about how fiction writers can avoid sexually objectifying women in their stories.

Growing up in Germany, there was one magazine every teenager read, whether they admitted to it or not.

On the surface, it was pretty much what you'd expect: news about celebrities, new CD releases or movies, a centerfold of the latest boy band. But there was one column that gave the whole magazine an air of exciting taboo. Every week, it would show a teenage boy and a teenage girl, each on one page by themselves, naked except for the little remote in their hand, posed in front of a neutral background.

One week, they would be tall and skinny, the next there would be someone chubby, or someone with freckles all over their chest, someone with small breasts and someone with larger ones. They varied in race, stature and personal style.

The cover of After Life Lessons by Laila Blake and L.C. Spoering


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST