RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap Up 4/20/2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week recovering from the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention? We certainly don't blame you! Here's what you might have missed on the RT site:

POST-CONVENTION COVERAGE:

See all the convention posts in one convenient location >>

Go behind the doors of the FAN-tastic Day Party! >>

See what we discovered during the Teen Day Party >>

Elisabeth Staab reflects on her first RT Booklovers Convention >>

RT's Whitney chats with Colleen Houck about what's ahead >>

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Tracy Anne Warren takes on princesses for her new series. Get The Details >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Teen Day, Tiger's Destiny and More!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Colleen Houck talks her bestselling Tiger's Curse series, the upcoming film adaptation and what she was up to at the second annual RT Teen Day in Chicago! In today's interview with RT's Whitney brings readers the insider details about all of this — and the upcoming Tiger's Destiny when she sits down with the popular paranormal YA author.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

At A Glance: The Harlequin Historical Romances Of April

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month, Harlequin takes readers back to the past for six tales of timeless love. Married to a Stranger by Louise Allen's doesn't just sport a steamy cover, it has a marriage of convenience filled with passion that will warm readers' hearts. Says RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin, "The gentle, yet powerful emotions of a grieving brother are sure to touch readers, as will the budding romance between him and a shy but emotionally strong woman. Allen reaches into readers’ hearts."


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Moments From RT: Author And First-Time Conventioneer Elisabeth Staab Shares Her Thoughts

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Newbie author Elisabeth Staab is proud to say that during this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, “I was an RT Con Virgin.” In this guest post, the author hopes to help others by breaking down the things that she thinks every author should know before they attend RT for the first time.

Looking back on my week at RT Booklovers Convention 2012, it’s astonishing to think that I wasn’t even planning to go this year. My debut vampire novel, King of Darkness, had only released in February. Nobody would know who I was, right? RT was hardly on my radar screen. But veteran vampire romance author Laura Kaye asked if I’d be interested in joining her for a really fun-sounding reader panel called Name that Vampire! I couldn’t say no. Still, RT was such a huge con, and I didn’t know what to expect. I can’t tell you how blown away I am, even still, now that I’m finally home and de-virginized.

So today I bring you a little of what I’ve taken away from my very first RT experience. The good, the bad, and the holy $&#!:

 

The Good:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Perkins, Forman and LaCour Are On The Road For The YA Or Bust! Tour

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

During this week and next, contemporary YA authors Stephanie Perkins, Gayle Forman and Nina LaCour will be touring through California and beyond to spend time with readers on the YA or Bust! Tour. Today, the authors stop by to chat about the tour, some of the burning questions that they frequently answer from fans and give us a hint about what’s coming next!

Gayle, Nina and Stephanie


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

How to Distract a Duchess by Mia Marlowe

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Ecstasy by Bella Andre

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

The Rock Star's Daughter by Caitlyn Duffy

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teen Dream: Hanging Out At The Teen Day Party!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

There was good food, awesome music and amazing giveaways at the second annual Teen Day party. All over the room teens were trading the new reads that were tucked in their goody bags, snagging authors to sign books and of course, making new friends. At the party in addition to the giveaway bags that were stuffed to overflowing, there were also several scavenger hunts, a makeup station and, of course, authors.  If you weren’t able to join us at the event, here’s a snapshot of what went on!

Everywhere you looked fans were chatting about the books we all love. Teens came from miles away to celebrate our second annual teen day. One young reader and her mother took an 11-hour train trip to join us in Chicago. And locals were out in full force too.

The room was high-energy as readers and authors mixed. YA fan Chelsea summed up the mood in the room perfectly when she said that her favorite part of the event was getting to talk to authors because, as she said it, “They are like rockstars!”

And what did some lucky readers learn about the books that they love (and what’s ahead for some of their favorite authors)? Well, there’s no predicting what a YA author will say next, that’s for sure!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fans Unite At The FAN-tastic Day Party!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We hosted our first-ever FAN-tastic Day, on Saturday during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention. The program, which included workshops and panels culminated in a reader party that featured several of the biggest names in fiction. At the evening event readers had a chance to connect with authors on a one-on-one basis. If you couldn’t make it out, here’s a taste of the party — and what you might have learned if you were in the room!

Some of our favorite moments were things “overheard” at the party as authors were chatting with readers. We bet that you didn’t know that futuristic romance author Marcella Burnard lives (and writes) on a boat with her cats. What a life, right?

And Sharon Page revealed seeing pictures from a recent photo shoot of Len Gunn aka Mr. Romance 2011, inspired her to write a steamy scene readers may come across in one of her upcoming novels … is it just us or is it getting hot in here?

As we partied with the authors, several of whom reduced us to near squees, we got a chance to find out about a few of their fangirl (and guy) moments!


Read More>>

Tags: Convention
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Page To Screen: Upcoming Film And TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Readers who also love to go to the movies or curl up in front of the TV have several reasons to cheer. Recently there has been a surplus of news about upcoming projects that will adapt favorite reads into movies and TV shows — and in some cases, the process will go in the opposite direction. Find out which of these adaptations are making our TBS (To Be Seen) List and find out which upcoming television series re-boots have us anxious for more news!

ROMANCE

When it comes to news about upcoming romance novels making their way to screen, this month it’s news about two novels authored by men that have caught our attention.

Nicholas Sparks’ adaptations just keep on coming, this April the adaptation of The Lucky One comes to theaters starring the positively delectable (if slightly young) Zac Efron. And we know that Safe Haven is currently in the works. However, Sparks' 2011 novel The Best of Me has also been purchased by Warner Brothers. (And talk about being an early bird, this company bought the rights before the book has even been written!) The story starts in 1984 when a pair of high school sweethearts, from opposite sides of the tracks, are torn apart by circumstances outside of their control. But now, back in town for a funeral, will this couple rekindle the fire they used to have? According to Deadline.com J. Mills Goodloe, who worked on 2007’s Pride and 2002’s A Gentlemen’s Game is set to adapt the project.

The second book to movie adaptation from a man is by an unknown author, Stephen Kiernan’s debut tale The Curiosity, has been acquired by 20th Century Fox. His novel is one part romance and one part scientific thriller. It follows a man who was cryogenically frozen 100 years ago, and “thaws” to life in modern America where he quickly becomes a curiosity. As he tries to navigate his new life in the media spotlight and the controversy he’s caused with the religious conservatives, that’s not the only thing filling up this man’s free time. He also begins a relationship with a beautiful young scientist who is from this century. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Overview Of The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

This year’s convention was record breaking. We had the most walk-ins, hosted our first ever FAN-tastic Day, our second annual Teen Day was double the size of the 2011 program and of course, our week was full of interesting workshops, amazing events and evening parties that will live on in our memories. It won't be long before we dive into planning next year’s convention, (you can already submit a workshop proposal for RT 2013). But first, enjoy this look back at some of the highlights of this year’s event!

***

Workshops

Young Adult Panel: “The Kids Are Alright”: Adult to YA Fiction >>

Science Fiction Panel: “Popular Tropes & Themes & How To Write SF That Dazzles” And Then We Bellied Up To The Intergalactic Bar and Grille >>

Self-Publishing Panel: Money, Money, Money — Facts and Figures For Financial Payoff with Smashwords' Mark Coker >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST