RT Daily Blog

Three Newly-Announced Graphic Novel Projects We Can't Wait To Read!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

New York Comic Con 2011 may be over, but the deals we are hearing about are heating up. In addition to our NYCC coverage, we absolutely could not wait to pass along the news about three upcoming graphic novel projects coming from some of the biggest authors of the year. 

The Millennium Trilogy is going graphic! Stieg Larsson’s runaway bestselling series — which started with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — will be adapted by DC Entertainment’s Vertigo. In traditional format, these books have sold over 60 million copies worldwide and spawned two film adaptations so we were particularly interested to hear that the series will now be adapted into graphic novels. Although Vertigo has not yet announced an artist or adaptation team that has been signed to work on the series, we expect those details to come down the line shortly.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On The Shelves Tuesday 10/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE VIPER

"A skillful blending of historically accurate events and finely wrought, believable characters gives the story tremendous emotional impact."

A MOST DANGEROUS PROFESSION

"Complex characters and plot, a parallel storyline, a quest, two star-crossed lovers and fast pacing make this a most delightful read."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Pip Ballantine And Tee Morris Talk Their Steampunk Series And Beyond!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris kicked off their steampunk series, Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences, with May's Phoenix Rising. We got the scoop on why they write Steampunk, how to get your hands on their "99-penny dreadfuls" and what fans can expect next with a sneak peek at their next Ministry book!

Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris On Working Together >>

Watch The Phoenix Rising Book Trailer >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of A Romance Cover With Elizabeth Hoyt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're always excited to get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into the creation of our favorite books. (It's no secret that some of us are guilty of judging a book by its cover.) So today, we're bringing you footage from the photo shoot for Scandalous Desires, the newest historical romance novel by author Elizabeth Hoyt.

After seeing this video, we went straight to Elizabeth Hoyt to get her take on the process behind designing the cover for her latest Maiden Lane novel — and what she has planned for the covers of future books!

***

What is your favorite part about the cover of Scandalous Desires?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Sabrina Benulis' Debut Novel, Archon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sabrina Benulis' debut novel, Archon, doesn't release until January, but once we heard about this paranormal series starter we knew we had to find out more. So RT's Morgan caught up with Benulis at Comic Con in order to get some inside information about Archon which is set in a Vatican secret enclave and involves a secret prophecy that a "blood head" (aka red head) will possess the spirit of a dead angel to wreck havoc on earth. 

Morgan Doremus: Since Archon is your debut novel, I am very interested in how you got started writing.

Sabrina Benulis: In college I wrote for myself. I was a psych major and was disenchanted so switched to English. I took a creative writing course and turned in a short story. When I got it back, it had a message from the professor “See me after class”. I was worried I had done something wrong, but it turns out that they thought it was really good. That was the first time I ever considered writing professionally. When I was getting ready to choose a grad school, I realized all I wanted to do was write, so I went to Seton Hill and their program for genre fiction. Archon was actually my thesis. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New York Comic Con 2011: Author And RT Columnist Anne Elizabeth Reports — With Contest!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

There was tons of action taking place at New York Comic Con 2011, and we couldn't cover it all ourselves. So, we got author and RT's Comics, Manga, and Graphic Novels Columnist Anne Elizabeth to share a few of her highlights from the event. And at the end of her guest blog, find out how you can get drawn into a zombie-filled graphic novel!

The vibration of feet stampeding through the Javits Center was a welcome feeling and sound on preview day, Thursday, October 13th. When the doors opened at 4 p.m., some fans raced to their destinations as others strolled to spots and stood vigil by comic book publisher booths waiting for the latest NYCC Comic Book Exclusives, the special comic books that are only handed out at this event.

Among the favored items were George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones: Issue 1 from the Del Rey Booth, the partial of book II of the Twilight Saga graphic novel and Cecily von Ziegesar's Gossip Girl Psycho Killer partial graphic novel from Yen Press. I must admit even my own NYCC Exclusive, the teen-rated short story comic, The Hall of Insides, flew off the shelves. 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Young Adult – Rachel Caine will add three new titles to her Morganville Vampires series which is set in the sleepy college town where vamps make the rules. Although no publication dates have been announced, we're looking forward to returning to Morganville (at our own risk, of course) for the upcoming books thirteen through fifteen in this long-running series!

Paranormal Romance – Gerry Bartlett has just signed on to pen the ninth in her vampire series, the Glory St. Clair books. In this tale, heroine Glory heads to Scotland to hunt down her sire-slash-the love of her afterlife and our fingers are crossed that all goes well for this loveable vamp.

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New York Comic Con 2011: Overview — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last week we gave you a peek inside of the bustling world of New York Comic Con 2011. You got a chance to experience a workshop, check out Artist Alley, go behind the scenes of Marjorie Liu's latest Dirk & Steele story with a special author interview, find out what's next for Patricia Briggs, and more. But, the fun's not over yet!


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
25COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New York Comic Con 2011: Patricia Briggs Chats About Mercy, Anna And Her Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Comic Con not only brings out great artists and comic book writers, but at NYCC you can also find some amazing fiction authors as well. This year RT's Morgan had the pleasure of speaking with Patricia Briggs, whose work spans from urban to medieval fantasy. Want to know more about Patricia's writing process and also get a sneak peek at what's happening with fan favorite character Mercy Thompson? Check out the interview below. 

Morgan Doremus: Different authors bring different skills to their writing. I think, first and foremost, you are known as a storyteller. Someone who can really make her stories come to life. 

Patricia Briggs: I am a reader first, so I write books that I would like to read. I always want my stories to feel real and since I am writing urban fantasy, this means I have to create a tension between the real world and the supernatural world. If the real world is very realistic, then it just makes the supernatural parts all the more plausible. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

NY Comic Con 2011: Artist Alley

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

New York Comic Con is unique in the fact that not only do fans get to meet amazing artists, but we can also watch them work. Every year at NYCC, Artist Alley is erected in order to corral the incredible talent visiting the city. This year artists sketched while sitting at tables, standing at easels and even kneeling next to a car. While strolling through Artist Alley, I was happy to see a few of my favorite author/artists, so I stopped in to check out their creative processes and also ask them what they are currently work on.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST