RT Daily Blog

Giveaway: The White Queen DVD

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

 

No one writes historical fiction quite like Philippa Gregory, so when we heard Starz and the BBC were going to adapt her 2009 novel The White Queen for television, we may have done a happy dance. We'll never tell. With royal drama, steamy kisses and Max Irons, this adaptation has a lot going for it. See for yourself:

 

Unfortunately, not everybody has cable and could catch the Golden Globe-nominated miniseries when it aired on Starz last summer. But fear not, because we have four sets of the complete series on DVD to giveaway!

FIll out the nifty Rafflecopter widget below to enter! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and ends next Friday! Good luck! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily — in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: January 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's a lot of chance involved with deciding which self-published stories to read, and we understand many of you aren't the gambling type. But have no fear, we're here to help make rolling the dice a little easier. We've scoured several online book retailers, including Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and more, to put together the bestselling fiction titles of the month that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Forever With You by Laurelin Paige

Genre: contemporary romance

Release Date: January 2013 

The Story: Paige's Fixed trilogy comes to an end with book three, and this book doesn't sound like a standalone as the trilogy focuses on the same couple in all three books. Alayna has had bad experiences with obsessive lovers, and Hudson Pierce, owner of the nightclub she works at, has some issues of his own. As Hudson's "business proposition" turns into something more, Alayna hopes Hudson's secrets won't break their relationship. Reviewers say this one has both great sex scenes and an addictive plot, not to mention a swoon-worthy Alpha hero.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Literary Heroine: Anne of Green Gables — with (Awesome) Giveaway!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

So, we all love to read, yes? That's what we're doing here on the RT Book Reviews website. And we all have those books from our childhood that turned us into readers. Those books that meant so much to us, they helped shape who we are today. For me, those books were about Anne of Green Gables, and the heroine who turned me into a lifelong bibliophile was Ann-with-an-e Shirley. And I am definitely not alone. We polled our friends and fellow publishing folks and came up with our favorite anne-cdotes. (We had to. Sorry.) How much do we love Anne Shirley? Let us count the ways — one for each book in the amazing Anne of Green Gables series, the series we're giving away below!

6. I once tried to convince my best friend that we needed to go to Prince Edward Island on vacation. "Nova Scotia and these islands are beautiful!" I insisted. "In January?!" (I lost once she found out the truth.) YA Bibliophile Heidi was luckier, she tweeted at us that, "A couple years ago a coworker and I went to Prince Edward Island to do all things Anne ... it was amazing!"

5. I saw Anne of Green Gables the Musical when it came to New York. My friend Emily (a big fan of L.M. Montgomery's Emily of New Moon series, naturally) and I were the only twentysomethings in the audience, comprised mainly of moms and tween daughters. We did not care one bit. (Nor would Anne have!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: M.D. Waters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Debut author alert! (We seriously need to invest in a siren.) We’ve been hearing lots of buzz about M.D. Waters’s debut, Archetype, and so we were thrilled when the futuristic fantasy received an RT Top Pick! rating from our reviewer extraordinaire, Jill M. Smith. Archetype is the first half of a duology starring Emma, who awakens in a hospital room, unable to remember anything. Living in a world with plummeting fertility rates, women are treated as commodities. She’s had a terrible accident, according to her husband Declan. Only Emma keeps having unsettling memories, memories that include resistance fighting — and another man. We welcome M.D. to the fold by asking a whole bunch of nosey questions. And she obliged us by answering!

***

Name: M.D. Waters

Book: Archetype

Genre: Science-Fiction / Futuristic Suspense

Current Home: Mechanicsville, MD


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

McClairen's Isle: The Reckless One by Connie Brockway  

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Dare to Love by Carly Phillips

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's Here! The Official The Fault In Our Stars Movie Trailer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Undoubtedly one of the most anticipated adaptations of 2014, The Fault in Our Stars, based on the bestselling YA novel by John Green, now has an official movie trailer! Grab some tissues and check it out:

What do you think? We are absolutely in love with Shailene Woodley as Hazel, that's for sure! The film is currently planned to release on June 6th.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Teen Day

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh, readers. There's so much fun to be had at the RT convention. From the workshops to the parties to the mixers and more, you can't help but have a great time. We mean, we once got to smell Fabio! That was super exciting. But for so many teens across the country, the greatest addition to the schedule these past few years has been Teen Day! 

How to describe Teen Day? There is squealing. A lot of jumping up and down. Some tears. (But mostly when an author runs out of books.) Long-suffering parents. Last year there was a dad who functioned basically as a chauffeur/coat rack, and he couldn't have been happier to hang out with his daughter. We met a mom who drove a gaggle of girls eight hours to meet their favorite authors. Another who shrugged as her daughter bolted toward the gift bags, telling us, "What can I do? She loves books."  We even met an older sister who drove four hours with her younger brother to meet their favorite authors.

It's basically the best way to cap off the convention that we can possibly think off. 

And this year in NOLA on Saturday, May 17th, we're going to have the most fun yet. 

Authors signing in YA Alley at the 2013 bookfair


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Michele Jaffe's Minders (and Judy Blume anecdote!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

We recently came down with a wicked case of FOMO (fear of missing out, doncha know) when we spied a Tweeted picture of three of our favorite YA authors hanging out together. People: Meg Cabot, Michele Jaffe and JUDY BLUME dined together, and we were not invited. Sob. Once we recovered from our disappointment, we emailed Michele for details (we are not ashamed). Here’s what she had to say:

 

Michele, Judy and Meg

"Judy's son, Larry Blume, and I have been friends for a long time, so it was great to finally meet his mom. She is as smart, funny, enchanting and stunning as you would imagine her to be--times 100. Being seated at a table with her and Meg Cabot is like being in the middle of a Charmnado."

Michele, being the lovely lady that she is, also wanted to share an excerpt of her latest YA, Minders, a trippy, futuristic tale of mind-hopping, privilege and romance. Take a look while you nurse your disappointment, right along with us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hunting for Pirate Treasure With Carla Neggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ahoy, mateys! Are you at your computer, but daydreaming of embarking on an exciting adventure, like maybe a treasure hunt? Today we’re talking pirate treasure with Carla Neggers, whose latest contemporary romance, Cider Brook, makes a return to picturesque Knight’s Bridge, where Samantha Bennett is back to atone for her mistakes and search for some 18th-century pirate treasure. (There is also a sexy firefighter hero.) Today Carla’s with us to share some treasure hunting secrets, so you’re prepared the next time you run into Johnny Depp. Oh, sorry, that was our daydream. Take it away, Carla!

My heroine Samantha can’t resist the lure of pirates and treasure, and neither can I. I’ve always been fascinated by pirates. Now we have the discovery of the wrecks of sunken pirate ships—like “Black Sam” Bellamy’s Whydah off Cape Cod—that tell more about the real men (and the occasional woman) who turned to this illegal activity and often paid with their lives.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST