RT Daily Blog

Cover Trend: Hair-y YA Heroines

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did your grandmother always tell you to "get your hair out of your face"? Well these YA heroines, starring on recent covers, are obviously not listening to their grams! Someone get these ladies (and one gentleman) a barrette! Check out the latest cover trend in YA we've spotted: Heroines with outta control hair.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Same Book, Different Reaction: Eleanor Moran Talks Rebecca

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love re-reading our favorite books as much as the next bookworm. But there's no denying that a book can lose its charm over time and when we return to it years later, our interpretations of the text can be skewed thanks to our life experiences. Don't even talk to us about watching Reality Bites once you're past your angsty twenties. Eleanor Moran, author of The Last Time I Saw You, knows this sad phenomenon to be true. Today, she talks about one of her favorite classics, Rebecca, and how her initial impressions of the book have shifted over the years. Take it away, Eleanor!

Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again ...

The cover of The Last TIme I Saw You

I cannot think of a single opening line that is more memorable and evocative than those first few words from Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca. I was fourteen when I first read it — longing for first love, and far too spotty and geeky to find it (a typical writer in waiting, really). Also, perhaps most crucially, I’d grown up with a very distant father whom I adored, though I only saw him intermittently. To me, the imperious and unknowable Maxim de Winter seemed like the perfect romantic hero.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 4/22/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

OTHERWISE ENGAGED

"Whether writing as Amanda Quick or Jayne Ann Krentz, this is one author who always delivers novels that draw readers into the story, and Otherwise Engaged is no different..."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ultimate Convention Survival Guide For Bloggers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

2014 RT Convention logo

Are you as excited as we are about RT 2014 in NOLA? Because we are really, really excited. And we want you to make the most of your time with us, so today we've got book blogger and reviewer Jennifer Morris from Books Make Me Happy with some great tips on how bloggers can maximize their RT time. These tips are not only great for RT, but for any book-related conference bloggers may find themselves at.

Take it away, Jennifer!

Getting ready for literary convention season can be a three ring circus of Barnum & Bailey proportions. Juggling day jobs, family obligations and deadlines is a tough act for authors, especially, but bloggers and other fans, as well. I'm usually pretty good at putting together a plan and making lists, but things inevitably get forgotten. I usually go to conventions in full-on fangirl mode, but as a first-time RT Convention attendee, I'm hoping to do a bit more networking for my blog. Which brings me to the following list of “blogger survival tips” for RT14.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Suspenseful Journey - Danger And Intrigue In April's Inspirational Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for some high stakes danger, but with a message? In this month’s Inspirational Overview, we take a look at four noteworthy books that have a bit of suspense thrown in for good measure. These are perfect for readers looking for a little danger and intrigue mixed in with inspirational goodness. Take a look:

Nancy Mehl starts off our overview with Gathering Shadows. In this romantic suspense read, TV reporter Wynter Evans is desperately looking for a major story to cover to not only please her boss, but also keep her job safe. When she stumbles across a photo of a boy who resembles her brother, who disappeared nine years ago, she sets out to uncover the truth. She winds up in the town of Sanctuary, where she befriends the Mayor, who warns her of the secretive nature of Sanctuary’s residents. Will Wynter be able to find the answers she seeks?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK
With our column, Forewords, we let you know the latest book news on the most exciting upcoming releases across genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES

Fantasy - Michael Livingston’s Shards of Heaven tells the harrowing story of two sons of the slain Caesar race who control powerful artifacts from ancient mythology. Livingston, a scholar of medieval culture at The Citadel, is sure to make waves with this exhilarating debut. Look for it in Fall 2015!

CONTINUING SERIES

Mystery - Bestselling author Jenn McKinlay wants to keep readers guessing with two more books in her Hat Shop Mysteries series. The two new additions will be the fourth and fifth installments. More details to come!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/18/14

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to catch The Husband Show?

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

Check out the latest RT Convention fashion tips from our editors!

Elisa's Picks

Tricia's Picks

Regina's Picks

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Hard Time by Cara McKenna - beefcake alert!When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside. What impressed me most about this novel is how the author approached the subject matter so skillfully.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Regina's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a look at RT Senior Editor/Reviews Coordinator Regina Small's outfits.

 

Pirates, Scalawags & More


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST