RT Daily Blog

RT's Superhero Reading List

BY , MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With The Avengers movie cracking the $1 billion mark in just over two weeks, superheroes are "super hot" right now. And if Iron Man, the Hulk and Thor have you wishing for more musclebound heroics, we are here to help with some great adventure romance stories featuring cape-d, sometimes spandex-ed and mostly masked heroes and heroines who will have you dreaming of extraordinary feats …

 

 

Thief of Shadows

by Elizabeth Hoyt

Meet the Superhero: The Ghost of St. Giles

Why You Need To Know Him: He’s “Batman in Georgian England.”

Some Backstory: The Ghost has played an important part in Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series but now the man behind the mask gets his happily ever after … or does he? It’s a story about finding love right under your nose (and sometimes right under a mask) in this July release that was rated an RT Top Pick!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords: The Books Before The Buzz

BY , MAY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Mystery - Stephanie Bond takes on two estranged sisters as the heroines of her upcoming books. The Two Guys Detective Agency series will follow the Guy sisters, who set aside their differences to invest in a struggling PI agency in a strip mall. We look forward to seeing if working together will help these two siblings bridge the gap that’s formed between them — of if being co-workers will simply drive them further apart.

Young Adult - For Sarah Zettel’s next historical adventure, she tells the story of an orphan who assumes the identity of a lady-in-waiting. But there’s a reason this series is called The Palace Intrigue Diaries. Nothing is as it seems: the original lady-in-waiting was murdered, the court is full of spies and the young artist who has caught our heroine’s eye may be her only ally — or her enemy. We can’t wait for the drama, lucky for us it will begin in Fall 2013 with Scandal’s Daughter!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 5/18/2012

BY , MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week we remember romance author Monica Jackson, who passed away unexpectedly on Wednesday. Our thoughts are with her family and friends during this difficult time. 

***

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Want to go inside Julia Quinn's A Night Like This? Get The Look >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Evonne Wareham talks her debut romance. Meet The Author >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Candace Calvert gives us a dose of medical drama. Learn About Her New Series >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dawn And Janine Dish: Wolf Hills By Bianca D'Arc

BY , MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We continue our month of Dishing about e-books with RT reviewers Dawn and Janine's discussion of Bianca D’Arc’s latest digital tale, Wolf Hills. Rated an RT Top Pick! erotic romance, the author’s new story is a thrilling addition to her sexy, paranormal Brotherhood of Blood series. But unlike previous entries that focused on vampires, the hero of Wolf Hills is a powerful Alpha werewolf named Jason Moore who recognizes his mate is detective Sally Decker — but he’ll have a hard time convincing her that he’s more than vacation fling material!

Dawn: I absolutely, positively love a strong heroine and Sally Decker more than meets my requirements. She’s a police detective from San Francisco and she will make you want to be a more kick-butt woman.

Janine: So true, Sally certainly inspires me. She doesn’t flinch in the face of criminals, knows how to fight when necessary and is not shy about pulling her weapon (with the intent to fire it) if the situation calls for it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Editor Chris Keeslar

BY , MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Chris Keeslar planted his publishing roots as an editor at Dorchester Publishing, where he spent many years working with authors including Marjorie M. Liu, Victoria Alexander, Lynsay Sands and more. Now, Keeslar is spearheading the new Boroughs Publishing Group, an e-book house, where he will continue his practice of taking chances and discovering new author voices. RT's Morgan got a chance to talk with Keeslar about his new endeavor and find out what Boroughs is looking for and how authors can submit their manuscripts. So what does Boroughs want? Keeslar shares that an author's vision is key, and while he's partial to urban fantasy and paranormal romance stories, he wants books that give their hero and heroine a happily ever after. Ultimately, romance is near and dear to this editor's heart, and we can't wait for what's on the horizon for Boroughs.

Boroughs Publishing Group Is Looking For Manuscripts >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: Julia Quinn's A Night Like This

BY , MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Julia Quinn has a particular skill at transporting readers back to the Regency era. We cherish the time that we spend between the covers of her tales, treated to a different period and place, where people are often more refined or at the very least, better dressed! And you know that, without a doubt, when you sign up for a Quinn romance, you will also get at least a few chuckles (or in the case of her latest novel, some full-on belly laughs).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY , MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. 

Historical Romance

I Kissed an Earl by Julie Anne Long

  

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Risky Business by Suzanne MacPherson

Buy For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

My Life as the Ugly Stepsister by Juli Alexander

Buy For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Evonne Wareham

BY , MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Evonne Wareham

Book: Never Coming Home

Current Home: On the coast of South Wales, in the UK

Job (when you are not writing): Mature Student

Author Icon: There are many authors I admire, but I think my first real inspiration has to be Mary Stewart — independent heroines, enigmatic heroes, mystery and adventure, in romantic settings. 

When did you start writing?

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t making up stories inside my head, but the road to publication has been a long one. I studied other writers, took classes and experimented to find out what I really wanted to write. And, of course, life and career also intervened, taking me away from writing for stretches of time — but I always came back.

What was the process like from writing to publication? We would be especially interested in finding out what happened after the American Title Contest.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: A Peek Inside Humorous Review Site LeastHelpful.com

BY , MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

In the June issue of RT, our Web Browser column took a look at Hudson Hongo's hilarious review website LeastHelpful.com, which spotlights some of the funniest (and not so helpful) Amazon product reviews. Here's a short interview with Hongo that didn't make it into the magazine and provides an entertaining look at some of the most ludicrous reviews on the Internet.

***

Do you have a favorite kind of Least Helpful review? Or a favorite review in particular? (We admit to being partial to the conspiracy theorists and reviewers whose ratings have nothing to do with the product in question — like the guy who gave the restaurant a bad review because his wife slept with the waiter, for example.)

Personally, I really like it when the reviews only exist as a platform for the reviewer's real interests, whether it's the moon landing, witchcraft or levitation. I'm already fascinated by these marginal web communities and it's pretty funny to see their theories appear on something mundane like a review of organic honey. My favorite review ever isn't really a bad review at all, though. This little girl just loves dogs: Read the review.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Rapture The Upcoming Fallen Angels Novel By J.R. Ward

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

J.R. Ward doesn’t just write some of the hottest vampires in paranormal fiction, she’s also created a class of fallen angels that may have you swearing to stay away from the pearly gates in order to steal some time with these exiled celestial beings. Ward plunged us into this dark and sexy series with 2009’s Covet and each fall has treated us to another installment with a snappy one-word title — Crave and Envy respectively — and some of the best dark heroes in romance today. (But don’t take my word for it on the heavenly hottie front, you’ve got time to pick up the first three books in the series before the upcoming book four, Rapture, is in stores this fall.)  

But if J.R. Ward’s name and the promise of sinfully sexy men aren’t enough to get you pre-ordering your own copy of Rapture, here is what we know we can expect:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST