RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extras: Questions For Cozy Author Peggy Webb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the October issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS RT's Stephanie Klose profiled a few of our favorite new cozy mystery series. We adore these fun stories that feature small-town amateur sleuths, so we are keeping the fun going! Today we asked award-winning author Peggy Webb why she loves the subgenre and to get us up to speed on her series just before Elvis and the Tropical Double Trouble hits stores next month.

Who is your sleuth?

One of my sleuths is the basset hound Elvis, who thinks he's the King of Rock 'n' Roll reincarnated. I believe a sleuth with four legs instead of two definitely qualifies as different! He is also one of the two major narrators. 

How does the music theme play into the stories?


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


From The Page To The Screen: Our Picks For The Most Interesting Upcoming TV Show Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In keeping with last week’s update about Morgan’s five most-anticipated upcoming film adaptations, we are back to let you know which of our favorite novels have been optioned for TV series and why you will love them:

Most Anticipated New Cast

Based on Craig Johnson’s the Walt Longmire Mystery series, A&E has ordered a 10-episode arc of Longmire, a contemporary crime thriller, to be aired next year. The TV show will follow the life of a widowed sheriff in rural Wyoming as he uses a good-old-boy attitude to hide his pain as he goes after the bad guys. The titular character will be played by Australian actor Robert Taylor, who is best known for his work in The Matrix as Agent Jones. But we are even more excited about the return of Katee Sackhoff (aka Starbuck from Battlestar Galactica) who will be playing Victoria Moretti, Longmire’s deputy. 

Most Nostalgia-Inducing Series


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker Gives A Blog Tour How-To

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the writing world. Today, Shiloh gives writers a lesson on blog tours.

Blog tours are an easy way to get the word out about your book. They can be time-consuming, but if you’re tight on funds and you need to push your latest release, a blog tour might work for you.

A blog tour doesn’t have to cost you any money, although if you want to throw a few contests in, it’s a good way to get readers interacting on the various blogs.

Not sure how to set up a blog tour?

Figure out what kind of bloggers you want to visit…and make sure it’s a match.  

If you’re writing erotic romance, you may want to keep that in mind…and not contact a blogger who is most comfortable reviewing inspirational romances. And vice versa.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Carla Neggers Talks Saint's Gate

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Carla Neggers is kicking off her new series with Saint's Gate. Get an insider's look at heroine Emma Stone, a nun turned FBI agent, and then discover how the author's family inspired the focus on art in this novel. There's all this and more when RT's Morgan Doremus interviews Carla Neggers — including how the next book in this series will be unlike anything the author has ever written!

Carla Neggers On Saint's Gate And Beyond! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon To Launch Digital Book Rental Service

BY Whitney Sullivan, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

As rumors start circulating that Amazon may soon host an e-book library function, I am positively giddy. This new un-named service would allow subscribers access to an e-library of books for a monthly fee.

Now skeptics are saying that companies have tried this before and no one has been able to conquer the book rental market the way that Netflix has done with the video market. And the detractors are pointing out that not too long ago Amazon launched their own instant video-streaming service, which has not yet surpassed the popularity of Netflix. However, I laugh in the face of their cynicism. The new Amazon e-library feature has the potential to be a real gamechanger.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 9/13/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elizabeth Jennings On Darkness At Dawn

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's rare that a book gets rated a Top Pick Gold, the highest possible RT BOOK REVIEWS rating. So we knew that Elizabeth Jenning's Darkness at Dawn was an extremely special story. Today Jennings gives readers an insider look at the Lucy Merrit, the heroine who must overcome the ghosts of her past in this thrilling romantic suspense.

The heroine of Darkness at Dawn, Lucy Merritt, is a manuscript restorer. I gave her this job on purpose.

I spent most of my formative years in Florence, Italy. Florence is not only a spectacularly beautiful city but it is a city uniquely dedicated to art. UNESCO estimates that half of humanity’s art works are in Italy, and half of those in Florence. Think of it—one relatively small city containing a quarter of humanity’s art output!

Of course much of the artwork is old and fragile, so one of the major industries in Florence is art restoration. Many of my friends were art restorers and my mother worked at an American graduate school of fine arts specializing in restoration. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Series Romance – Love a man in uniform? Then Laura Marie Altom's new heroes are for you. Her upcoming tales feature Navy SEALS soldiers and the women who can’t resist their charms. Fittingly enough, her series, releasing soon, is slated to be called Navy SEAL Operation Family.  

PIQUING OUR CURIOSITY


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: November 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

The November issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS will be in stores soon and here are some of the stories you can look forward to this issue...

Get the details about Colleen Houck's popular YA series third, Tiger's Voyage. Fasten your seatbelts, we dive into a chilling fiction trend: plane crashes. Find out why sweet romances really hit the spot. And don't miss this issue's Teen Scene, where Cecily von Ziegesar reveals why her Gossip Girl stars are deadlier than you think.

There's all this and more between the pages of the November 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week. Until then, here's a sneak peak at the November issue's Table of Contents!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Everything Is Fodder: Eileen Carr On Vanished In The Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today mystery author Eileen Carr comes clean about her "shameless" habit of using situations around her for writing inspiration. Do you want to know how soccer, alcoholism and the relationships that adults have with their parents all figure into her newest book Vanished in the Night? The author stopped by RT to answer this questions and more!

I get asked a lot about where I get my ideas. I think it would be easier to tell people where I don't get them. I am shameless. I don't think there's anything or anyone I won't mine for material for a book.

For instance, I mined my kids' soccer careers to come up with the setting for the school in Vanished in the Night. It gets trickier when you start stealing people's emotional lives. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST