RT Daily Blog

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES

Historical Romance - Just what are they teaching ladies at the School for Brides in Cheryl Ann Smith's historical series? Certainly not to go after a dangerous highwayman to offer him a marriage of convenience. However, this is exactly what the heroine decides to do in the author’s third book, which will be on shelves next year. 

Paranormal - What’s harder than saving a doomed marriage? Saving said marriage while also trying to destroy a demon from Hell. The couple from Kristen Callihan’s upcoming novel Winterblaze must to this and more as the author continues her historical Darkest London series. 

NEW SERIES ALERT


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Which Steampunk Christmas Novella Is Right For You?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Trees are trimmed, candles have been located, presents are wrapped and meals are planned. (Or if you’re like us, they haven’t yet, but by the time people are expecting holiday cheer, everything will be done.) After all of your hard work it’s time to get yourself a gift and what better than some terrific steampunk holiday stories? The newly released anthology A Clockwork Christmas contains four short stories that will certainly get you in the mood to celebrate. You can buy the e-collection from Carina Press, or purchase any of these tales individually. And because we know you don’t have a whole lot of spare time right now, we’ve broken down each story in the quartet so that at a glance you can see which of these terrific short stories might be right for you. 

 

 

 

 

Title: “Crime Wave In A Corset” 

Author: Stacy Gail

Setting: Boston at the turn of last century


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 12/16/2011 — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week Craving the Forbidden?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***

Holiday Gift Guides

EROTICA: We've got creative, fun picks for erotica readers. Turn Up The Heat This Holiday >>

PARANORMAL: Still need something for your paranormal fan? Check Out Our Picks >> 

YOUNG ADULT: Ideas for readers of all ages. Get Help With This Fun List >>

See All Of Our Gift Guides Here >>

***

SERIES ROMANCE: Old meets new in Decembers' Harlequin Historicals. Read The Reviews >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Quick Paranormal Romance Fix For The Holidays

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

I admit it, I am a total sucker for short stories. I love that the happily ever after between characters can blossom in only a few pages. It is almost an instant gratification that, as readers, we can read a whole love story in under an hour. However, not all short stories are created equal. The condensed format makes them very difficult to write. There is so much to pack into a few pages that a lot of the time readers can feel cheated, like we missed out on fundamental world building or character development. But every once in a while, a short story is so well crafted, so well written that we just can’t forget it. That’s the way I feel about Marjorie M. Liu’s “Six” from the 2007 anthology Holidays Are Hell.

“Six” begins in the back room massage parlor in the heart of Shanghai. Our heroine, Six, is there working undercover for Squad Twelve, an elite secret military force. She’s investigating the murder of the Foreign Minister’s wife. Unfortunately, this puts her in the middle of some seriously intense trouble — something paranormal that her training has not prepared her for.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If You Like ... You'll Love: Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking to add a few books to your TBR pile? In our newest column "If You Like ... You'll Love" RT staffers and reviewers will pick one new read and then suggest three other books that hold the same appeal. Today we look at Stephen J. Cannell’s Vigilante.

When Stephen J. Cannell passed away in September 2010, the world lost an excellent storyteller. Cannell was a television show writer, actor, creator and producer. Among the projects that he worked on are the classic shows Columbo, 21 Jump Street, The A-Team and The Rockford Files. And when he turned his attention to writing novels in 1995, he did so with the same enthusiasm, writing 17 books in those 15 years. As an author Cannell is best known for his 10-book Shane Scully series about an LAPD detective. This month the final Shane Scully story, Vigilantehit shelves. In this tale Scully takes on a murder that brings him face to face with possible police corruption, gang problems and a nosy reality TV star who wants nothing more than to see the detective fail. 

RT’s Jo Peters says, "The late Cannell’s last Scully novel is a fitting ending to the series, reminding us why Cannell was a significant part of our entertainment culture on TV and in print for decades: he was a darn good storyteller. This well-plotted story shouldn’t be missed.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Conor's Way by Laura Lee Guhrke

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Mistletoe Mine by Emily March

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Soulkeepers by G. P. Ching

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Violence And Villains In The Thirteen Hallows By Michael Scott And Colette Freedman

BY Janine Johnston, DECEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sci fi and fantasy fans are hard to please. In fact, I would dare to say that some of us are filled with a geeky snobbery so strong, that it sometimes cannot be contained in all the forum threads and blog comment boxes the Internet has to offer. It's spilling out into the streets. 

Okay, perhaps I’m being a bit dramatic, but I think I speak for many readers when I say that we are getting tired of the same old fantasy story. A young, brave hero (who is almost always male), usually acting out of some sort of need for revenge and having nothing to lose, goes on some kind of adventure, along the way he acquires a powerful item (of magical or scientific origin) and must destroy the bad guys or else the universe will explode. Don’t get me wrong, this plot is a classic, filled with beloved tropes, but what makes it work in for contemporary readers is not groundbreaking plots, but instead authors’ original details and talented writing … which unfortunately seems harder to come by these days. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: Daybreak By Ellen Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Daybreak concludes the futuristic paranormal series co-written by Ann Aguirre and Carrie Lofty under the pen name Ellen Connor. The tale reunites childhood friends Pen and Tru from Nightfall, which Morgan and Whitney Dished about several months ago. But will these all-grown-up characters be able to forge a new (adult) relationship in this harsh world or are they doomed to failure like the society that they are products of?

Morgan: “Let’s read Daybreak,” you said. “We have to read Tru’s story,” you said. And innocent ole me thought it a great idea. Until Tru shows up in the story.

Whitney: Okay, he is a bit different from how we left him at the end of the first book in the Dark Age Dawning series. But, in his defense, Tru was only a teen in that story ...

Morgan: Yeah, and he is grown up to be a complete jerk! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Victoria Dahl On Her Upcoming Contemporary Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Victoria Dahl is beloved for both her historical and contemporary romances. (In fact, RT's Morgan and Whitney enjoyed the author's latest contemporary series, featuring the Donovan Brothers Brewery, so much that they Dished about all three books!) Today, the popular author gives RT readers the first look at her next contemporary series. Meet the first book's cowboy hero, find out about the story's tough-but-tiny heroine and discover what ties this new series together in this edition of Spoiled!

***

Where are these modern day romances set?

The new series is set in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, an amazingly beautiful place that I'm thrilled to visit any chance I get.

How are the books connected? (Are we looking at another "sibling series" like the Donovans?)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And A First Look At Her March 2012 Tale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Brandilyn Collins talks with RT's Morgan about crafting suspense stories with true crossover appeal, tales that resonate with both inspirational and secular readers. The author is best known for her gripping mysteries, but it's her well-drawn characters that keep us coming back time after time. Today, Collins shares a look how she creates these detailed heroes and heroines and gives RT readers a sneak peek her March 2012 novel, Gone to Ground!

Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And Her Upcoming Tale >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST