RT Daily Blog

Six Suggested Reads For The Fourth Of July Weekend!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

We hope everyone has an excellent fourth of July weekend, full of barbeques, cool drinks on hot days, and of course, fireworks. And to celebrate the official birth of the United States of America, we’ve are highlighting stories from the different genres that are set in locations across this fine country throughout our history. And don’t be surprised if this list of new releases gets you feeling downright patriotic!

LOCATION: SET IN A SMALL TOWN

 

Leah and the Bounty Hunter
by Elaine Levine
Historical Romance
Time period: America, 1880s

Spend some more time with the good folks of Defiance as Avenger, the famous bounty hunter, safeguards the town and wins the heart of the brilliant Leah. But when old secrets resurface will they tear this couple — and their beloved town — apart?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/1/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week on a Vacation With a Vampire … and Other Immortals

Here’s what you missed on the RT website.

***

MYSTERY: Best-selling author Janet Evanovich stops by to talk shop about Smokin’ Seventeen. Get The Details >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Find out what unlikely teen pastime inspired Nancy Bush’s latest. Read The Author Message >>

SERIES ROMANCE: Join Sarah Morgan for A Night of Scandal. Accept Her Invitation >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Bella Andre, Monica McCarty and Jami Alden

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sometimes when the going gets tough you just need a friend to help you see the silver lining. Although authors Bella Andre, Monica McCarty and Jami Alden each write in different genres, they credit their friendship for their individual success. Today the author trio chats with RT's Morgan about the care and keeping of their special friendship — and why every author should have friends like these!

Andre, McCarty and Alden on the ways that friendship affects writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kristina Riggle Talks About The Things We Didn't Say

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kristina Riggle’s new mainstream novel, Things We Didn’t Say, is an RT Top Pick! The story follows Casey as she makes some big decisions in her life — mainly breaking up with her fiancé. But then the unthinkable happens — one of her ex-fiancés children goes missing and soon the entire extended family is involved in the search. Casey must re-evaluate her feelings about her relationship. Today we asked the author to share what inspired her to craft such a tangled family dynamic for her novel. 

Is there any more intense crucible of personalities than a family?

See, we choose our friends. If our priorities change, if we grow apart or frankly get sick of each other, we can break up, or drift away. Our friends are a shifting pool of old and new connections, changing as we grow and circumstances change.

But we cannot escape those family ties.

Even those who move away, and cut off contact, are still bound by blood and history. It’s a rare person indeed who is never confronted with her own heritage and descendants.

Families are intricate. Each person has a personality, but each relationship has a personality of its own as well. Each marriage, each sibling relationship, the collective sibling relationship, in-law connections, they all have their own dynamics which are further altered by the presence of the others.

As a person, I sometimes find this complexity exhausting. As a writer, I find it delicious.

It’s not only delicious, but it’s as important and vital a literary subject as any other.

Our greatest pain is caused by the ones we love, either through their actions, or witnessing their suffering. The stakes never feel so high as within a family. Are you doing the right thing in raising the children? Are you holding together your marriage well enough? Are you taking care of your aging parents with enough love and diligence?

These are weighty, universal matters and worthy of literary attention.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper by the Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

The Reiver by Jackie Barbosa

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Sheltering Hearts by Robyn Carr

Get It Free >>

 

Young Adult


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RWA Readers For Life Literacy Autographing 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tuesday was Romance Writers of America's annual "Readers For Life" Literacy Autographing. With almost 500 authors signing and lines that wrapped around a New York City block, a tremendous amount of money was raised for important literacy programs. RT BOOK REVIEWS was there to chat with some of the authors in attendance. Here's a look at what we learned from a handful of the many fan favorite authors at the signing. 

Susan Andersen was signing her newest contemporary novel Burning Up. We asked the author what was something about her writing that would surprise readers and Susan said that she likes writing about the family and friends in her books as much as writing the romance. So which was her favorite family member in Burning Up? "Definitely Auntie Lenore."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elin Hilderbrand Opens Up About Her New Mainstream Novel Silver Girl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Elin Hilderbrand is a fan favorites for her Nantucket-set tales, which always make great beach reads. But with this month's Silvergirl Hilderbrand creates a tale that is based in reality but ripe with opportunities of love and self-discovery the way that only a mainstream novel can be. Get a special look at this compelling new novel as we go behind the scenes with the author! 

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The beginning of Silver Girl sounds ripped from the headlines as a love struck wife gets what our reviewer calls “the rug pulled out from under her” when the cops take her husband away for fraud. Did the timing of, or developments in the Maddoff story affect this tale?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Janet Evanovich - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Janet Evanovich has made her screwball amateur PI (and professional bail bondsman) Stephanie Plum a household name. Stephanie's latest numerically titled adventure, Smokin' Seventeen, sold over 218,000 books across the digital, audio and traditional formats — in the first day! Today Janet Evanovich sits down with RT's Morgan Doremus to chat about Ranger and Morelli, the two men in Stephanie's life, and the third one that her mother picked out for her special. And then don't miss your chance to win a copy of Smokin' Seventeen after the interview.

Go behind the scenes of the Stephanie Plum mysteries >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

GIVEAWAY ALERT: One lucky winner will receive a signed copy of Smokin' Seventeen. To enter just tell us why you'd love to be an amateur sleuth. Or email your comment here with your name, US mailing address and the subject line "Janet Evanovich's Smokin' Seventeen Giveaway!" The winner will be announced on July 12.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 6/28/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Eve Edwards' The Other Countess — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Eve Edwards' historical YA series starter The Other Countess is an RT Top Pick! Reviewer Raven Heller says of the story, "I stayed up way too late to finish this one — but it was so worth it!" Last week readers got a look at the first few chapters of the story and the author gave away advance reader copies of The Other Countess. Congratulations to last week's winners and we are thrilled to announce that this week one more reader will win an ARC of the story and everyone will get a chance to read the second chapter of the story!

Will watched her go with regret. His attraction to the dark-haired lady with her execrable embroidery had taken him by surprise. She’d been laughing at his brothers—that was what had done it. Her eyes had sparkled with humor, her smiling lips just begging for a kiss.

Will sighed. He was here on serious business and could not afford to be distracted.

James scratched his chest and yawned. “Who was she, Will?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST