RT Daily Blog

D.P. Lyle Asks "Can Too Much Forensic Science Smother Your Fiction?"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month D.P. Lyle continues his popular Dub Walker series with the thriller Hot Lights, Cold Steel. His new mystery has Lyle pondering when too much science is just that — too much. Aspiring authors and mystery fans can read the author's conclusions in this special post. 

If you write crime fiction in any genre--hard boiled, cozy, thriller, romantic, literary--you must have some knowledge of forensic science. Even if your story doesn’t include DNA or fingerprints or toxicology or autopsies or any of the other forensic techniques, you have to know what’s out there. Failure to do so can sink your story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Extended Excerpt: David Baldacci's One Summer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author David Baldacci is best known for his thrilling mysteries but this month the author is tugging on our heartstrings with his mainstream novel, One Summer. Check out the first two pages of the story below and don’t miss the special treat at the end of this post!

***

Jack Armstrong sat up in the secondhand hospital bed that had been wedged into a corner of the den in his home in Cleveland. A father at nineteen, he and his wife, Lizzie, had conceived their second child when he’d been home on leave from the army. Jack had been in the military for five years when the war in the Middle East started. He’d survived his first tour in Afghanistan and earned a Purple Heart for taking one in the arm. After that he’d weathered several tours of duty in Iraq, one of which included the destruction of his Humvee while he was still inside. That injury had won him his second Purple. And he had a bronze star on top of that for rescuing three ambushed grunts from his unit and nearly getting killed in the process. After all that, here he was, dying fast in his cheaply paneled den in Ohio’s Rust belt.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal Of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of June!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Forum: What Women Want With Author Faith V. Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Faith V. Smith kicks off her new thread on the RT Forums, “What Women Want” by sharing some of her thoughts about romance — and a few of her favorite heroes!

What does a girl want? My, that is a loaded question! I personally think women of all ages want a bit of romance. Of course, we can and have found it with the boy next door, the man of our dreams, the one and only that can make our hearts beat so fast we fear we'll pass out, or the man who can make you melt in a puddle of want. Yes, my readers, there is romance out there for everyone. It might be a candle fully lit, one already dimmed by years of togetherness, or one that is a memory of a love that has gone on to Heaven's gates, but beneath the trials and tribulations of life, there has to be the hope that someone, somewhere out there is the right frog.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With The Survivors Author Amanda Havard!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Amanda Havard will thrill readers with her paranormal story, The Survivors, an RT Top pick! Today the author chats with RT's Whitney Sullivan about her supernatural saga, and goes behind the scenes to give readers a special look at what they can expect from the tale — and what's coming next!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Nightfall By Ellen Connor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Ellen Connor is actually the writing team of Ann Aguirre, who began in sci fi romance and now writes across the genres, and historical romance author Carrie Lofty. Now they have incorporated their talents to  thrill — and chill — readers with the new dystopian series Dark Age Dawning that starts with this month’s Nightfall.

***

Whitney: Morgan, I think it’s only fair that we tell readers that we’ve been excited for Nightfall since we first found out that Aguirre and Lofty were co-writing a series. 

Morgan: But it wasn’t just the authors that brought us to the story. It was the plot itself. I mean we’ve got civilization ending, our hero Mason kidnapping our heroine Jenna to save her (not that she would believe that) and hellhounds chasing them as prey. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Houck On Her Paranormal YA Series

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Colleen Houck has made waves in the YA community with her paranormal series that follows a teen who learns that the tiger she is caring for is actually an enchanted Indian prince. The story of Dhiren and Kelsey's love began with January's Tiger's Curse which received a Top Pick! from RT's Meera Patel and the rave reviews, "this is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote..." This month their saga continues with another RT Top Pick, Tiger's Quest, and today the author chats with me about the inspiration for her hero, the Indian mythology that runs through the series and a hint about what fans can expect in the the series third, Tiger's Voyage!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 6/7/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week. 

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kim Harrison On Her YA Series- With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

RT Exclusive: Bestselling author Kim Harrison makes a virtual stop at the RT Daily Blog for the Dark Days of Supernatural book tour. Today the author chats about what it was like to move from her paranormal adult roots into the YA genre with her Madison Avery series. The author is also giving away signed copies of her new YA, Something Deadly This Way Comes and a very special grand prize — get all the details at the end of the post! 

One of the most frequent questions I get asked is where the characters come from, and to a great extent, I really can’t give the reader a satisfying answer. Characters come from everywhere, just like story ideas. Usually my characters are a conglomeration of people I’ve met, bits and pieces from here and there combined into someone totally new. Madison, however, was a bit different.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
97COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Historical Romance - The next three books in Elizabeth Hoyt’s Maiden Lane series have just been purchased by Grand Central. The stories will continue the series' focus on the characters of all classes who brought together by an orphanage in a London slum, proving that romance truly can bloom in the most unexpected places!

Series Romance - Always entertaining series author Kathleen O'Reilly will be releasing a romantic trilogy and Christmas novella next year. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST