RT Daily Blog

Introducing Macy: An Insider's Look At The Complex Heroine Of Erin Celello's Miracle Beach

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Macy Armstrong Allen, the heroine of Erin Celello's new mainstream novel, Miracle Beach, has a lot on her plate. She has just lost her husband and discovered that he was hiding several secrets. Today debut author Erin Celello gives us an insider's look at her heroine and the troubles ahead.

Imagine what you might do, and how you might feel, if the one person who had the answers you craved was dead. That’s the situation that Macy, the heroine of my debut novel, Miracle Beach, finds herself in after her husband Nash dies in a sudden accident and she discovers things about Nash in death that he kept from her in life. It’s a complicated position to find oneself in, and the questions raised would be plenty to challenge a person. But Macy’s difficulties don’t end there. She also has a mother-in-law who blames her for Nash’s death, and a father-in-law who is trying to live vicariously through her to get to know his son.

That’s a lot to grapple with.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap Up 8/12/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

All week long we've been focusing on tales of time travel, so it seemed only fitting to kick off this edition of Weekly Web Wrap Up with a look at three of the web team's most anticipated upcoming time travel stories!

 

Morgan's Pick

The Rose Garden by Susanna Kearsley

 

Elisa's Pick

Fare Forward by Wendy Dubow Polins

 

Whitney's Pick

No Proper Lady by Isabel Cooper

         

***

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Louise Marley And The Brahms Deception -With Reader Poll

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are shining the spotlight on time travel romances all week long here on the RT site. And we knew that our final author interview would have to be with Louise Marley. This author's new paranormal romance won rave reviews from RT reviewer Mandy Boles who said of The Brahms Deception, "Marley’s knack for combining historical intrigue and romance will keep readers with a love for books like Audrey Niffenegger’s The Time Traveler’s Wife and A.S. Byatt’s Possession on the edge of their seats." The author has made a name for herself with her futuristic tales and strong heroines, so we were intrigued to find out what inspired this very different story, and get her take on why historical fans will want to check out this romance with a paranormal twist!

***

Why did you decide to write a time travel romance? What is it about your character being out of time and place that appeals to you?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Family Upheaval Rocks Four Tales In The Harlequin Medical Romance Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this month's Harlequin Medical Romances, readers will find cases of intense family upheaval that have left lasting emotional scars. These men and women have been through loss and now struggle with serious issues in their relationships. So will these men and women be able to overcome the challenges that stand in the way of living happily ever after?

 

The Doctor and the Runaway Heiress 
By Marion Lennox

Dr Riley Chase has just found out that the eighteen-year-old daughter he didn't know he had is also an expectant mother. Can Riley's budding relationship with nurse — and heiress — Pippa Fotheringham survive this new revelation?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Christy Reece

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fan favorite author Christy Reece is a master of the romantic suspense genre. Readers just can't get enough of her Last Chance Rescue series, which follows a team of private contractors who help recover kidnapping victims. You can get a special look at the newest Last Chance trilogy in the September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. And today the author chats with RT's Morgan about how she came to write romantic suspense novels, this month's Last Chance Rescue mini-series starter, Sweet Justice, and why she's so interested in tales of reunited lovers!

Christy Reece Talks "Reunion Romances" >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen: This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Almost a Spinster by Jenna Petersen

Buy For $.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Hollywood Scandals by Gemma Halliday

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Summer's Crossing by Julie Kagawa

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Author Interview With Lynn Kurland - With Reader Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are focusing on time travel romances all week long on the RT site and we knew that our spotlight would not be complete without author Lynn Kurland. She has been writing these stories in different incarnations for the past fifteen years, and has moved from historical romance to the fantasy genre and back with her tales of characters that transcend both space and time. So today we caught up with Lynn Kurland to pick her brain about what it really means to write time travel tales!

***

Why a time travel romance? What is it about your characters being out of time and place that appeals to you?

For me, time travels are the ultimate fish-out-of-water stories. I think having characters completely out of their comfort zone forces them to confront things they might not otherwise, which hopefully makes for a good story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Primal Law by J.D. Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author JD Tyler (the pen name for Jo Davis who also writes contemporary romances and eroticas) will keep fans on their toes with this all-new paranormal series starter. Fast-paced and suspenseful, Primal Law, the first in the Alpha Pack series will appeal to J.R. Ward and Sherrilyn Kenyon fans. But don’t be surprised if these sexy shifters leave you howling for more ...

Whitney: One thing I can say is for those readers looking for a leisurely, sweet read, Primal Law is not for you because this author doesn’t know the meaning of the word slow. The story has deadly fighting, sweaty sex and paranormal creatures literally coming out of the woodwork! 

Morgan: And that is just in the first couple of chapters.

Whitney: In the prologue, we meet hero Jaxon Law as he and his of team Navy SEAL shapeshifters are caught in an ambush. In the course of a few pages Jax loses his best friends in the fighting and learns that his lover, Beryl, is the one responsible for their deaths. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Time Travel Spotlight: Jude Deveraux Answers Our Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are spotlighting time travel all week long and as you learned yesterday one of the web team's favorite time travel authors is Jude Deveraux. Although Whitney and Morgan can't decide which is a their number one travel tale, A Knight in Shining Armor and Remembrance top both of their lists for the must-read that they always suggest to readers looking to test the time travel waters. So it only makes sense to start our round of author interviews with the talent who got us hooked on this type of novel. Today we host an author interview with the incomparable Jude Deveraux!

***

A Knight in Shining Armor was first published in 1990 and has been in print ever since. What do you think it is about this story that continues to capture readers' imaginations?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Brian O'Reilly

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Brian O'Reilly

Book: Angelina's Bachelors

Genre: Contemporary Romance/Mainstream Fiction

Current Home: We live in the Greater Delaware Valley. It’s a great place to live (and my lifelong home, excepting short spurts in California and just outside NYC), within striking distance of great cities, museums, parks, and mountains, even an ocean. And home is where the kitchen is.

Career (in addition to writing): I’ve been a producer for about 25 years, and most recently, I was the creator and an executive producer of Dinner: Impossible on Food Network. I do some writing for political campaigns across the country and I’m currently developing a number of TV projects while working on a second “Novel with Food.”

Favorite Word: Beer. I think it’s one of the richest, most varied, friendliest words in the language, especially when paired with the interrogatory punctuation mark: “Beer?” I also love the word “slake,” as in “Come and slake your thirst, my friend.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST