RT Daily Blog

Four Medical Themed Romances Get *Web Exclusive Reviews*

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

I adore Grey's Anatomy, Private Practice and Off The Map, and with sexy doctors like McDreamy and McSteamy saving lives, I know I'm not the only gal out there who can't get enough of hospital romance. So I was thrilled to learn that RT will now be running *Web Exclusive Reviews* of the series romances in the Harlequin Medical imprint!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Felix Gomez Comes To Comics!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mario Acevedo's popular vampire hero, Felix Gomez, is wowing fans in a whole new way as the star of a new graphic novel series. So we sat down with Mario Acevedo to find out what fans could expect from Felix's newest adventures which begins with Mario Acevedo's Felix Gomez: Killing the Cobra Chinatown Trollop.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: This is not the first time that you have written about Felix. How does the graphic novel Chinatown Trollop fit into your Felix Gomez series?

Mario Acevedo: This is the prequel to Felix Gomez’s adventures in my first novel, The Nymphos of Rocky Flats. Chris Ryall, the publisher at IDW, found the mention where Felix refers to a previous assignment against the Han Cobra Chinese heroin smugglers and suggested the graphic novel revolve around that episode.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Fantasy Author Joe Abercrombie About The Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Joe Abercrombie's new novel, The Heroes, is set in the same world as the author's First Law Trilogy. The story takes place during three days of battle. RT Senior Reviewer Natalie A. Luhrs calls the tale "Well-written and stocked with fully realized characters ..." noting that the author captures the fury of war with graphic violence and multiple points of view. Now the author transports readers to the front lines to answer our questions about this compelling new read.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your new release The Heroes releases this week. However, despite the title, there doesn’t appear to be any actual heroes in the story. How would you define “hero?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Kat Martin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Kat Martin welcomes us into her world of romances in this special author interview. Get an insider look at the making of the contemporary romances in her latest series, her writing process and what we can expect from this fantastic author next!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The books in your current series, the Against Trilogy, are contemporary romances set in Wyoming. Was it difficult to switch from your last trilogy, a historical romance, into the world of the contemporary West?

Kat Martin: Actually, though all of the Raines brothers were born in Wyoming, only the first book,Against the Wind, is set there. The other two brothers, Gabe and Dev, have moved away, Gabe to Dallas and Dev to Scottsdale, Arizona. The switch from historical to contemporary turned out to be easier than I expected. Over the years, I had written ten contemporaries, two ghost stories, the rest romantic suspense. So I was just going back to the kind of writing I had dabbled in before.

Read the entire interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Spreading The Love

BY Shiloh Walker, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

It’s February…lets show the love…

Hey, we write romance, right? We should know all about showing love. Remember… we show, don’t tell! I like to take it off the pages of the book, though, and move it out into the real world. Loving my neighbor, helping out where I can.

It’s good to give back, when you can. Sometimes it’s a small thing. Sometimes it’s a big thing. 

Something I’ve seen over the years is that the romance community can be very, very giving…the readers, and the writers.

Ever wondered how to you become a part of that? Ever wondered if you should? Why you should?

Nobody but the individual can decide if you should…although there are plenty of reasons why it’s wonderful to give back. 

I do it because I want to, plain and simple. I believe in it. It never hurts to help another.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Haunting Jasmine: The Inside Scoop On The Ghosts Of Dead Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Anjali Banerjee has bewitched us with her latest novel, Haunting Jasmine. RT Reviewer Victoria Frerichs praised the read saying, "The paranormal aspects of the novel are creative and fun." Learn how Banerjee brought several dead authors back to life to haunt her heroine Jasmine and don't miss a special deleted scene from the tale! 

In my new release, Haunting Jasmine, a harried L.A. businesswoman, Jasmine Mistry, newly divorced and still reeling from her ex-husband’s infidelity, returns home to the rainy Pacific Northwest island of her childhood to run her aunt Ruma’s bookstore for a month while her aunt is in India. Auntie Ruma conveniently fails to tell Jasmine that the bookstore is haunted by the ghosts of dead authors, who help Jasmine to slow down, reinvent herself, rediscover her love of reading, and fall in love with an enigmatic young stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get In The Game With Jaci Burton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance author Jaci Burton has just switched gears from writing her popular motorcycle-themed books to focusing on professional athletes. Her newest series, Play-by-Play, kicked off this month with the ultra steamy The Perfect Play. Today the author lets us hang out on the sidelines and shares what we can expect from her sports themed stories. 

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Your new series starter, The Perfect Play, was recently released. What inspired the professional sports setting of your new series and what was it like to transition from the world of Harley riding undercover agents to that of professional athletes?

Jaci Burton: I love sports of all kinds—football, baseball, hockey, soccer, basketball. I always have, ever since I was a kid—my dad instilled my love of sports in me, and I’ve carried it with me my entire life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Tale Of Two Genres With Maureen Child (aka Regan Hastings)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's "Inside the author's studio" with Maureen Child who also writes paranormal romances under the pen name Regan Hastings. Today this talented author shares what it's like to write across genres and what she does to sweep fans off their feet, no matter which genre of books they read.

As Maureen Child, I’ve written a lot of books for Silhouette Desire (soon to be Harlequin Desire). As Regan Hastings, I launched my brand new Awakening series of dark paranormal romances last week with the release of Visions of Magic. In both the category novels and the single titles, I created a fantasy experience for the reader, but of a very different sort.

For example, with January’s Have Baby, Need Billionaire, I created billionaire Simon Bradley. Tula’s love for him will have nothing to do with his money, of course, but the reader will know that she’ll never have to worry about how to pay her utility bill. She’ll have a life with the man she loves and who loves her, plus she’ll live in comfort and security forever. Desire readers tell me all the time that they love imagining themselves living in the heroine’s shoes.

The fantasy world I created in Visions of Magic, on the other hand, is not a place you’d want to live. It’s a dark and dangerous world where women who are suspected of witchcraft are imprisoned without trial. Fear is ubiquitous and has been for ten years, since society learned that magic is real. And the fear is founded in eye witness accounts of witches doing terrible things like setting people on fire.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/8/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Northrop On The Blizzard That Rages In This Month's Trapped

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Michael Northrop has us crossing our fingers that none of the winter’s snowstorms turns into the serious natural disaster that occurs in the author’s new YA, Trapped. The tale follows teen Scotty Weems and six other students who are stuck in a high school as a monster blizzard rages outside.

Let me begin this the way I begin so many things, with a crippling admission. I watch a lot of documentaries. Not like a few here and there: a lot. My favorites are usually about nature in some way, either animals on their home turf or people trying to navigate the natural world. Let’s just say I’m not the sort of guy to miss Shark Week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST