RT Daily Blog

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 2/8/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Michael Northrop On The Blizzard That Rages In This Month's Trapped

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Michael Northrop has us crossing our fingers that none of the winter’s snowstorms turns into the serious natural disaster that occurs in the author’s new YA, Trapped. The tale follows teen Scotty Weems and six other students who are stuck in a high school as a monster blizzard rages outside.

Let me begin this the way I begin so many things, with a crippling admission. I watch a lot of documentaries. Not like a few here and there: a lot. My favorites are usually about nature in some way, either animals on their home turf or people trying to navigate the natural world. Let’s just say I’m not the sort of guy to miss Shark Week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Around the World: The Belgian Congo

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tamar Myers gives readers a unique look at the Belgian Congo during the late 1950s in her new mystery, The Headhunter's Daughter. With fighting tribes, feuding missionaries and killer animals the nation is full of dangers. When the American missionary Amanda Brown hears of a European girl being raised by a native tibe, Amanda sets out to bring this mystery child back "home". But all is not as it seems when this young girl's reappearance threatens to exposed a secret that is decades old. Now the author shares her personal experiences with the Belgian Congo in this author interview!

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Buzz Before The Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

NEW SERIES ALERT

Romance - Beth Ciotta's new Cupcake Club series will include four books, each featuring a couple that belongs to the culinary club that hopes to make a difference in the world with delicious treats. The first in the series is scheduled to publish in 2012.

Young Adult - Rachel Cohn is writing a four-book series that takes place on the bioengineered island of Annex, a tropical paradise populated by soulless clones. The first title in the series, Beta, features two teenage girls - one human, one clone. Both teens fall in love with the same boy. Beta will release in fall 2012 with three more novels to follow.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An All-Access Pass To The 15th Century Venice Of Jon Courtenay Grimwood's The Fallen Blade

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Jon Courtenay Grimwood takes readers behind the scenes of his new novel, The Fallen Blade, which is an RT Top Pick! RT reviewer S.L. Rosania says readers "can really feel and smell" the author's 15th century Venice, brought to life with dangerous intrigue, dark secrets and all sorts of things that go bump in the night. 

So how do you pin down a love story between a living girl and a boy who isn't quite sure what he is other than not entirely normal? Then throw in werewolves and witches, introduce the first vampire in Europe, and try to make it feel as real as possible? For me the answer was simple! Set the story in Venice, and set it during the 15th Century, when the city was at its corrupt and glittering best.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Heroine Named Hero

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

When it comes to historical romances, normally my favorite heroines are the women who break all the rules. Adjectives like quirky, spunky and feisty come to mind to describe them. So I was surprised when just a few pages into this month's RT Top Pick! Notorious Pleasures, I couldn't get enough of Elizabeth Hoyt's new heroine, Lady Hero. She's well-behaved, graceful and seems pretty much flawless, which makes the love triangle between the heroine and two brothers that much more scandalous. Now Elizabeth Hoyt gives us an inside look at the making of manner-minding Lady Hero who has made me love a new kind of heroine.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Seriously Un-Cinderella Or Eight Essential Steps For Performing A Successful Make-Under

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

What is a woman to do when she wants to focus on her career, but she is thrown into the path of a handsome prince? Perform a make-under, of course. Just like Tamsin, the heroine in Annie West’s latest Harlequin Presents Extra, Protected by the Prince. Learn the author's eight essential steps for performing a make-under like Tamsin’s just in case you need to disguise yourself from your own playboy prince. 

We all like to know we look good. Makeovers are a treat and they do wonders for our mood, our confidence and attitude to life. 

So why bother with a make-under? Maybe if you’re incognito, in hiding, or trying to avoid someone. My recent heroine, Tamsin, wanted to be invisible, left alone to focus on the one thing that had never let her down: work. She’d been burned badly by an unscrupulous man who used her feelings for him and her naivety against her. So when she takes up a new position, overseeing the royal archives for a gorgeous, debonair prince with a reputation as a ladies’ man, the last thing she wants is to attract attention. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tara Janzen On Her Fast-Paced Steele Street Series - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Tara Janzen reflects on the evolution of her extremely popular romantic suspense series that features the men and women of Steele Street. These romantic adventures are packed with government intrigue, lethal warriors and high-speed chases. Learn how the Steele Street gang has kept taking us (and their author) by surprise and then enter to win your own copy of this month’s Loose Ends at the end of the post!

Loose Ends, my new Steele Street book, is the culmination of a wild ride that has lasted over the course of eleven novels. I had no idea back when I wrote Crazy Hot and Crazy Cool that the story was going to come full circle, with all the bad guys having been working for one powerful, manipulative man, the ultimate traitor to our country and the soldiers who serve. The threads that tie all the books together, and the one woman from J.T.’s past who can save him, are revealed in Loose Ends.

I started writing the Crazy books with one clear goal in mind – to make the stories move as fast as the cars the guys were driving, all those gorgeous, roaring, muscle-machines Detroit was putting out back in the 60’s and early 70’s. I was in love with the cars and the guys and the rocket-speed of the books. When my publisher asked if I had ideas for two more books, I was thrilled – because, boy, did I have more ideas. I’d met Creed and Kid in the first two books, and I really wanted to write their stories, Crazy Wild and Crazy Kisses. Then my editor asked for two more stories, and I could feel a series coming on. Also, by Crazy Wild, after being with Creed and realizing how badly everyone on Special Defense Force, SDF, was struggling with the loss of J.T., I knew there was a whole lot more to these stories than the plots and the romances of each individual book. From the very beginning, J.T. echoed through the pages. He was always there, and the more books I wrote, the more obvious it became that he was the driving force of a bigger story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Cynthia Eden Looks Into A Killer's Mind - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Go behind the scenes of author Cynthia Eden writing process and learn how she comes up with her chilling romantic suspenses. Her latest tale, this month's Deadly Heat got an RT Top Pick! and at the end of this message you can check out an excerpt and enter to win a copy of this novel that RT Reviewer Annette Elton calls "seriously hot!"

When people ask me what I do for a living, I usually smile and say, “I write about monsters.” It’s true. I do. I spend my days deep in the minds of monsters—whether they are supernatural monsters in my paranormal books or human killers in my romantic suspense tales. My life is all about monsters.

When I first started writing my Deadly romantic suspense series for Grand Central, I knew that I’d have to go deep into the minds of killers. After all, my Deadly series focuses on killers. The agents in my fictional Serial Services Division spend their days and nights tracking and apprehending serials—killers, rapists, kidnappers. Not some fun, Hallmark Card-type job. Scary. Intense.

Fun to write (not so much fun to actually live).


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Nico Rosso A Rising Star In Science Fiction Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love to discover new authors, and were thrilled when RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne reported that she'd found a winner in the debut author Nico Rosso. Dawn praised Rosso's action packed novella and promises that sci-fi and romance fans will not want to miss "Taken To The Limit." Want to learn more about Nico Rosso and his writing? Look no further than this author interview with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Morgan Doremus: You have said that the great thing about sci-fi romance is the possibilities. “We can be the rescuer and the rescued, the fighter and the philosopher.” Do you consider yourself any of these things? All of them? 

Nico Rosso: I do think that there are all of these elements in me. Writing each of these archetypes makes me search them out inside, then use what I know to try to make them real on the page.

MD: Can you tell us a bit about your new novella "Taken To The Limit". What was the evolution of the story's plot?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST