RT Daily Blog

Cozy Corner: Several Series Hit The Road Just In Time For Beach-Book Season!

BY MORGAN, MAY 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

What is it about a really good cozy mystery series that brings readers back book after book? My thought is that it has to be the great amateur sleuths who take on the crimes around them and don’t stop until they get the bad guy. But it can be hard to keep a series fresh several stories into it. So what is an author to do? Send their sleuth on a trip, of course. Just in time for toting your book to the beach, or somewhere air conditioned, here is a guide to a few cozies series that feature amateur detectives solving crime not-so-close to home.

 

 

Clutches and Curses by Dorothy Howell
Book 4 in the Haley Randolph Mystery series
Releases May 2011

After being cursed by a customer, L.A. salesgirl (and purse-aholic) Haley Randolph absolutely needs an escape. So she is off to Las Vegas. But when her rival shows up dead, Haley is the prime suspect and must work her stilettos off to find the real killer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Morgan & Whitney Dish: DIvergent By Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney Dish about Divergent by Veronica Roth. The debut author's dystopian YA caught Whitney's attention with its compelling premise and multi-dimensional heroine.

***

Morgan: OK, I know everyone has been talking about the Hunger Games series forever, but more than any other book I remember reading, Divergent really has themes and characters that remind me of a Suzanne Collins book.

Whitney: You know, while I think it will appeal to some of the same readers who enjoyed the Hunger Games seriesI definitely didn’t read Divergent thinking “This is the Hunger Games, revisited.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Marcella Burnard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Marcella Burnard thrilled readers with her debut novel last November's futuristic paranormal romance Enemy Within. This story was a November Top Pick and nominated for that month's Seal of Excellence. Burnard followed up Enemy Within with this month's Enemy Games, which also received a Top Pick. Today Burnard shares a look at her writing process and more in this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus.

Marcella Burnard on her futuristic paranormal romances >>

Marcella Burnard on the differences between the first and second Enemy books >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marianne Evans Discusses The New Age Of Christian Inspirational Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Marianne Evans challenges readers' perceptions about Christian romance. Evans shares her own transition into writing inspirational tales of love, and offers a taste of what types of stories one might find in the genre!

“Aren’t inspirational romances kind of preachy?"

“Aren’t they pure, and sweet, but lacking in realistic, relatable characters?"

“I’d read them, but, where’s the type of sparkling chemistry that gives me the butterflies of falling in love?”

Well, hang on my friends; you’re about to enter the "New Age" of inspirational romance!

I’ve heard comments like these a number of times since I made the change from writing secular romance for Kensington to writing Christian fiction and romance for White Rose Publishing, and what I always ask in return is: Have you read one lately?

I’m amazed by the evolution of Christian romances. Name a current cultural trend, and you’ll find it addressed. Inspirational romance isn’t shy about taking on tough topics like abuse, alcoholism, bullying and autism, death, betrayal. I think that answers the realism argument pretty effectively.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Building A Solid Blog Foundation

BY Shiloh Walker, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Finding your blogging inspiration and creating a blog people come back to...

So you want to blog, but you don’t know what to blog about?

There was a post at Lynn Viehl’s blog, about how blogging could be a writing exercise, and that’s a good way to look at it. I started making myself blog, regularly—I’d have a post go up almost every day. I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now.

There’s no set rhyme or reason to my posts. I don’t just blog about writing, I don’t just blog about books, I don’t just blog about my kids and my husband, or movies, etc, etc etc. In a way, my blog has become a reflection of me. I do blog about my kids and my husband. I do blog about books. 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison Answers Our Questions About Her Paranormal Romance Dragon Bound!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Thea Harrison thrilled us with her debut paranormal romance, this month's Dragon Bound. Harrison's story pits spunky heroine Pia against a dragon hero who is determined to uncover all of her secrets. The tale got a 4 1/2 stars Gold rating from RT Senior Reviewer Jill Smith who says, "Utilizing vivid characters, edge-of-your-seat danger and an intriguing alternate reality, Harrison crafts a novel that grabs you from the first sentence and makes you bitterly regret that the book must end." Now we chat with the author for an insider look at her brilliantly paranormal world, dynamic characters and what fans can expect when her series second hits shelves in August!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: There are a lot of interesting mythical creatures in Dragon Bound from gryphons, to an evil Dark Fae King, witches and even a temperamental dragon hero. How did you decide what characters would populate your world?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 5/10/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Sarah Dessen's New Contemporary YA Novel What Happened To Goodbye!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month author Sarah Dessen releases her latest contemporary YA novel, What Happened to Goodbye. Dessen is known for her emotionally gripping tales and this month she tackles what happens when the desire to make yourself over goes too far.

In the story, high school senior Mclean's life has been a series of goodbyes since she moved in with her divorced dad. As they've gone from town to town, Mclean has reinvented herself each time. And by the time they get to Lakeview, Mclean is so good at the process, she's not even sure who she really is anymore. Will Lakeview be the place that she finally feels free to be the real Mclean?

You can find out if Mclean will be able to re-discover herself when What Happened to Goodbye hits stores today, or enter to win your own copy by leaving a comment below about how you'd make yourself over if you moved to a new town!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Suspense - Allison Brennan has just sold her next three books to Minotaur. No word yet on if these will be straight romantic suspense or suspense with a touch of paranormal. 

Historical Romance - Fan favorite Maya Banks will be releasing three new Scottish historical romances through Ballantine. We will let you know the moment we’ve got more information, but our fingers are crossed for Scotsmen of the kilted variety!

CONTINUING FAVORITE SERIES

Mystery - Michael Brandman will be continuing Robert B. Parker’s Jessie Stone series starting with Robert B. Parker’s Killing The Blues, which will be released in September.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Second Chance To Win The Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last week we gave you the first chance to try your luck at winning our Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway, a tote bag that comes filled with the latest novels from Aprilynne Pike and Ellen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and tales of supernatural romance and adventure from four new voices: Veronica RothAmy PlumJosephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

             
                     
           

Let's pause for a second to get a look at those covers. That's a very pretty line-up, right? I've got a bad news/good news situation for you today. Bad news: Like the Hope Diamond, there could be only one winner of our first giveaway. So if you aren't Tricia Schneider, you are starting this week empty-handed, sorry! But, good news: Starting today you will have a second chance to win your own Dark Days of Supernatural tote bag full of new and upcoming releases.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST