RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Artist Trevor Goring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Artist Trevor Goring has been illustrating comic books and graphic novels since he was in college. After graduating, he worked on the landmark comic 2000 AD before getting into storyboarding and creating concept art for movies and television. He has worked on such popular projects as Independence Day, X-Men 2 and the Twilight franchise. Today Trevor Goring chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about his previous projects and what fans can expect next.

Interview with artist/author Trevor Goring >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Five Minutes With Actor Bradley Cooper

BY MORGAN, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bradley Cooper’s new movie Limitless hits theatres this weekend. The film is based on the 2001 novel The Dark Fields by Alan Glynn. Bradley plays the story's protagonist Eddie Morra, a down-and-out writer who is given the opportunity to achieve great things by just taking a pill. Earlier this week, I had the opportunity to sit down with Bradley to chat with him about this film and his next project, The Hangover Part II

***

 

When Limitless begins, Eddie is in pretty bad shape. Do you relate to him at all at this stage of his life?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: What I Did For A Duke By Julie Anne Long

BY MORGAN, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week, Whitney and I Dish about Julie Anne Long's historical romance What I Did For A Duke.

Whitney: As many of you know I am a fiend for historical romances. I have a few stock authors who I always keep my eyes open for when I head to the bookstore and Julie Anne Long is absolutely on that list. But time — and my reading allowance — being what it is, I’ve only read one of her previous five Pennyroyal Green stories. (As many might remember, I raved for months about Violet, the heroine of Long’s July novel, I Kissed An Earl.)

Morgan: And while Whitney has definitely mentioned Julie Anne Long before, What I Did For A Duke is my first time reading the author. And I don’t know why historical romance authors always do this to me, but I can't help but compare them to other authors. I would say that my first foray into a Long book made me immediately think of all the usual suspects: Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Liz Carlyle, Sophie Jordan ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Sarah Graves On Knockdown The Upcoming Story In The Home Repair Is Homicide Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this week’s Cozy Corner we chat with Sarah Graves of the popular Home Repair is Homicide series. Learn how the author started building her series from the ground up, while she was repairing her own house and find out what you can expect from her upcoming novel, Knockdown.

When I first came to Eastport, Maine and started writing the Home Repair is Homicide series starring home-repair enthusiast Jake Tiptree, like her I also started fixing up an old house.

Now, more than a dozen years later, the series still isn’t finished and the house isn’t, either. I guess you just never know what you’re getting yourself into when you fix that first leak, paint that first wall, scrape the first acre of wallpaper...

Or when you plot that first murder. The next thing you know, you’re wearing your own carpenter’s apron, swinging your own hammer...and researching just how far a 12-gauge shotgun’s range really is, anyway, and whether or not you can put a silencer on one (hint: don’t try this at home).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inside The Issue: May 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We've just wrapped up the May issue and it will be in stores soon. 

Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

We chat with Debbie Macomber as she takes her Blossom Street gang on the road!

Anne Rice talks about the unauthorized biographical comic book about her life — and what fans can expect from her next.

We shine the spotlight on contemporary cowboy heroes.

Find out everything you need to know about some of our favorite Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance series before the new books come out.

Get the details about Mr. Romance 2010 in this special interview.

Find out who won the RT/Kensington Writing With the Stars Competition and which authors are taking home RT Career Achievement awards and Reviewers' Choice awards for their work.

We also hear from Candace Bushnell in Teen Scene, start getting ready for next year's convention in Chicago and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chelsea Cain On Her Novel The Night Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Chelsea Cain shares what it was like to write her newest thriller The Night Season without her popular character, serial killer Gretchen Lowell. Instead, the story focuses on Detective Archie Sheridan and journalist Susan Ward. Cain explains why she kept Gretchen out of the action and if readers will ever see this glamorous serial killer again!

When I was a kid, I never imagined that I would grow up to have a serial killer, but life can be surprising. I do have a serial killer. Her name is Gretchen Lowell, and she is the antagonist and obsession bait of Det. Archie Sheridan, the hero of my thriller series. I actually refer to her as this – “my serial killer.” And very smart people ask me questions about her, and refer to her as “your serial killer,” so she must be mine, right? And I love her. I do. She is deadly, beautiful, witty, and a hellcat with a razor blade. So why did I choose to leave her mainly off-stage in my fourth thriller, The Night Season?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Who's Who: The Answers To The "Name Game" From Our March Issue!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love games here at RT — and we're glad to know our readers do too! Lots of you wrote in to play along with the Name Game that ran with our story on initialed pseudonyms in our March issue, "Alphabet Soup." As promised, below are the correct answers to the puzzle. Winners have been notified.

Thanks as always for playing along!

1. J.K. Beck     
2. J.D. Robb    
3. Christie Craig  
4. Vanessa Kelly      
5. C.E. Murphy  
6. Sonja Massie 
7. J.C. Wilder   
8. Candace Procter
9. Marion Chesney 
10. M.J. Locke     
G. Julie Kenner
J. Nora Roberts
F. C.C. Hunter
A. V.K. Sykes
I. Cate Dermody
H. G.A. McKevett
D. Dominique Adair
C. C.S. Harris
E. M.C. Beaton
B. Laura J. Mixon

 

For more about authors who write under initialed psuedonyms, check the March Issue, and if you missed our additional interview with P.J. Parrish, you can click here!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 3/15/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Ann Aguirre's Shady Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of  Ann Aguirre's new Urban Fantasy novel, Shady Lady. With this extended excerpt you can dive right into the latest Corine Solomon adventure which will hit stores in April!

***

Lust sizzled through me. There were two of them, a matched pair. I knew a woman wasn’t supposed to want such things, but sometimes we had desires—dark desires—that couldn’t be denied. There was no doubt about it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Looking for news about upcoming books in one convenient place? Our weekly column Forewords has everything you need. We share news about our most anticipated releases across all the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Romance - Contemporary romance maven Susan Elizabeth Phillips has just sold two more novels to William Morrow. No confirmation as to when these books will release, but if they follow the author’s previous release schedule, we might see the first in January 2012.

RETURNING FAVORITE SERIES 

Young Adult - The next three books in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series Chronicles of Nick will be released from St. Martin’s. For this new deal, Kenyon will reportedly make over a million dollars. For those unfamiliar with the YA series, Chronicles of Nick is a spin-off of Kenyon's adult Dark-Hunter books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST