RT Daily Blog

SCOOPED! Featuring Roberts, Davidson, Gabaldon and more!

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I go in-depth about Gabaldon's Outlander graphic novel, give you something to read while you wait for the next J.R. Ward and offer some puppy-friendly reading suggestions. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post. 

Question: I just got a puppy that I have fallen in love with. Are there any good romances out there that feature dogs? - M. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


RT's Carol Stacy Is Live And On The Air!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Today at 1:00 PM RT BOOK REVIEWS' Publisher and Internet Director, Carol Stacy is interviewed by Cathy Maxwell over at Blog Talk Radio. Learn all about how Carol Stacy has helped keep RT BOOK REVIEWS at the forefront of the genre since 1984.

Tune In >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Fairytale Wedding Leads To Inspiration For A Historical Fiction!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Learn how author Kathryn Johnson's marriage at sea led her to the inspiration for her new historical fiction, The Gentleman Poet.  

As readers of romantic fiction, we’ve come to expect our stories to end happily, and often with a wedding. But at least one novel I know of started with a wedding, though not the heroine’s. It was the author’s wedding ceremony—mine—that inspired the story.

Let me explain. My husband-to-be and I had discussed just about every possible location for exchanging our vows. His priorities included "doing something creative, fun, different" and not spending a lot of money. My priorities included "a super-romantic setting" and not spending a lot of money. Neither of us, you see, had living parents or many close relatives, so whatever we planned the total cost would come out of our pockets, which weren’t exactly cash-plump. And although church weddings are an absolute for some couples, being married in a traditional venue wasn’t high on our wish list. We also wanted to keep the wedding ceremony intimate and guest list short.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lucienne Diver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK
Young Adult author Lucienne Diver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The pair chat about how Gina, the teen vampire heroine of Diver's Vamped series, evolves in this month's ReVamped. Get the insider details about Gina's unusual way of kicking butt, the unexpected love triangle in this novel and what is coming next!

Diver On ReVamped And Where The Series Is Headed! >>

Read The *Web Exclusive Review* of ReVamped >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TWO MAG-NIFICENT YA GIVEAWAYS!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Check out two YA-friendly giveaways from RT magazine! 

It's a simple question: Zombies or Unicorns? And our "Zombies Vs. Unicorns" contest has the answer! Well, kinda. At the very least, our contest gives you a chance to win a copy of the new anthology Zombies Vs. Unicorns, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, out September 21st from Margaret K. McElderry.

Want to play? E-mail Elissa@RTBookReviews.com with a haiku — in the traditional format of five syllables, seven syllables, five syllables — rhapsodizing about your preferred creature. The winning verses will be posted online on Sept. 21, and will receive a copy of the book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Francine Rivers On Faith And Family In Her New Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Francine Rivers shares how her latest inspirational novels helped her find answers about her own family's emotional journey toward love and acceptance.

Her Mother’s Hope began my odyssey of seeking answers regarding relationships in my own family, primarily the relationship between my mother and grandmother. Once very close, they were somewhat estranged when my grandmother died. Sometimes expectations get in the way of reality. While examining their lives (through my grandmother’s brief memoir and my mother’s many journals) I saw how they had different ways of living out their Christian faith. Marta (inspired by my grandmother) had to leave everyone and everything behind in order to achieve her dreams. She had her mother’s blessing to do so. Marta’s (and my grandmother’s) view of faith: God helps those who help themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Changes To The E-Book Buying Landscape

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Samhain is consolidating with the online bookstore My Bookstore and More to bring readers more coupons, pre-ordering for upcoming releases and a better book buying experience. We talked to Samhain CEO Christina M. Brashear about the upcoming changes. 

The popular online publisher, Samhain, primarily publishes books in e-book format. The company has been rapidly expanding since it launched 2005. Now they are evolving in a new direction by consolidating their publishing house with the online bookstore that currently distributes Samhain’s e-books, My Bookstore and More. In the past, Samhain has sold their books online via the MBaM bookstore. The online bookstore has been a destination for readers searching for e-books published by a wide range of publishing houses both large and small. But soon MBaM will sell Samhain e-books exclusively. RT caught up with Samhain’s Publisher, Christina M. Brashear, to find out about the changes and what they will mean for readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/7/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags:
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Jade Lee and PW Blogger Barbara Vey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Jade Lee is interviewed by Publishers Weekly blogger Barbara Vey. The author chats about how how her new release, Wicked Surrender. With this novel she explores Regency London beyond the beautiful ballrooms of the ton. And learn why Lee has wanted to write Wicked Surrender since she was ten years old!

Jade Lee On September's Wicked Surrender >>

Jade Lee and Barbara Vey Chat About Writer and Reader Conventions >>

Jade Lee Shares Details About Her Upcoming Project ... A Graphic Novel Series! >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Virginia Kantra On Teens, Moms, And Unexpected Abilities - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the latest Children of the Sea novel, Immortal Seaparanormal author Virginia Kantra's heroine, Elizabeth Rodriguez, is raising two teenagers and her son, Zack has some unique abilities. He is half fin folk!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST