RT Daily Blog

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cameron Stracher On The Water Wars That May Be - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Cameron Stracher’s chilling dystopian YA, The Water Wars, the fast-paced adventure takes place in a bleak world where the lack of water has caused economic and social disasters. Learn what current conditions around the world inspired the author to create The Water Wars and what steps you can take keep this world from becoming our reality. And after you check out this excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of The Water Wars at the end of this special message from the author — be sure to enter to win your own copy of the new novel!

The simplest, most elementary thing, can also be the most precious. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cast Your Vote In Writing With The Stars Round Four

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Voting is now open for the fourth round of the Kensington/RT BOOK REVIEWS Writing With the Stars contest!

You've already had a chance to meet the 10 contestants and their mentors and also vote on the best first paragraph and last line of their novel. For the second round of the competition, you read about each contestant's hero and heroine, and then you got to vote on which story had the best back cover blurb. Now you can decide which manuscript has the best secondary character.

You will also get to read comments from each contestant's mentor as well as the thoughts of this round's judge, agent Laura Bradford. 

You can vote once time between now and January 30th, but comment on each manuscript as many times as you'd live. And then get ready to decide which of the remaining contestants has the best love scene when round five opens on February 14th!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewards - Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

EXCITING DEBUT AUTHOR

Thriller - Jaden Terrell's debut novel, Racing The Devil, features a private investigator with a sick son and a sick best friend, an ex-wife he still loves and femme fatale who frames him for murder. The novel hits stores in January 2012 and will be directly followed by A Cup Full of Midnight in February 2012. 

NEW SERIES ALERT

Suspense: Neal Baer and Jonathan Greene, executive producers of Law and Order: SVU, just sold a series to Kensington about a female forensic psychiatrist. The three-book series starts with Kill Switch and follows the protagonist who must find a former patient who is now killing. No word yet on the release date. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Zabime Sisters Is Named One Of The Top Ten Great Graphic Novels For Teens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

The American Library Association has named the 2011 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens. On the top of that list is The Zabime Sisters by AristophaneThe Zabime Sisters follows the adventures of three sisters who live on the island of Guadalupe as they begin their summer vacation. Originally written and published in France during the 1990s, this award-winning tale was only recently translated into English by Matt Madden.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 1/14/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week trying to figure out how you ended up Made for a Texas Marriage?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website:

***

Mystery: While researching her novel, Barbara D'Amato discovered an unusual psychology test. More >>

Paranormal: Get swept away by the authors of A Midwinter Fantasy. Read The Interview >>

Young Adult: Wendelin Van Draanen on her new heroine, a “below knee” amputee. Learn More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet Alix Rickloff's Earl Of Darkness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Alix Rickloff combines two of our favorite genre in this month’s Earl of Darkness, a January RT Top Pick! This novel's inventive paranormal and historical elements has RT Senior Reviewer Kathe Robin praising the story as “a tangled tale of good and evil, magic and mystery, passion and desire — one that won’t be easily forgotten.” Check out a behind the scenes look at Rickloff’s inspiration and don’t miss the excerpt of Earl of Darkness at the end of the post.

“Where do you get your ideas?”

Every writer has been asked this, and, if they’re like me, they dread answering. I’d love to say, “Oh, I send $19.99 and receive a huge box of ideas in the mail. Any idea I’m not completely satisfied with, I can send back guaranteed.” 

If only it were that simple. 

But asking a writer how they come up with their stories is like asking a runner how they run so fast. Call it a gift or a talent or simply good luck, it just happens—without explanation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Clare B. Dunkle Puts Her Own Spin On The Classics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the YA adventure The House of Dead Maids, author Clare B. Dunkle bring Heathcliff and Seldom House to life before Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights takes place. Learn why Dunkle fell in love with the classics and some of the alternate beginnings, middles and endings that she would weave into four other classic tales.

Lots of readers come to the classics through well-meaning but boring school assignments, and there’s nothing like making a thing mandatory to suck all the thrill out of it. But I didn’t have to go to school to find the classics. My mother was an English professor, so our house had a room stuffed with the greatest books ever written, and she was always ready to help me find more interesting layers in those books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unique Jobs That Are Catching Our Eye In Series Romance!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the early days of series romances (just a few decades ago) heroines who were employed tended to work as secretaries, nurses and teachers. Today women hold jobs in all different sectors of the workforce and series romances certainly reflect this diversity. They work all around the globe and in a variety of fascinating careers. Get a special look at three of the January heroines whose unique occupations have us considering a job change!

 

Jane Harper, life coach in Because of Jane
by Lenora Worth


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Men Writing Romance, Mainstream Picks, A List Of Great Blogs And More!

BY Morgan Doremus, JANUARY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I reveal the blogs I am addicted to reading, list my favorite recent mainstream books, answer a question about men writing romance and more! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: I’m looking for some great contemporary novels. I'm not into romance, so maybe you could recommend some books about important friendships. - Sarah


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST