RT Daily Blog

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 12/3/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trying to reason with the Man With the Muscle?

Here's what you missed on the RT Website.

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Cathy Maxwell talks about cover art. Which Covers Does She Love? >>

MYSTERY: Libby Fischer Hellmann reflects on her 1960s-inspired thriller. Get the Details >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Lisa Plumley on holiday traditions and her new romance. Check It Out >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Nancy Mehl shares how a mystery became a romantic suspense series. Learn More >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Author Interview With Kasey Michaels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kasey Michaels has wowed readers who enjoy contemporary romance, romantic suspense and even mystery fans, but she is best known for her tales of Regency romance. This month the author concludes her latest series with How to Wed a Baron, which she calls "a sort of salvation story." This in-depth interview takes readers behind the scenes of Michaels' new release and gives fans a sneak peek at what they can expect next from the delightful pen of this bestselling author!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ever-Innovative Jayne Ann Krentz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jayne Ann Krentz’s readers know that this bestselling author can always be counted on to do the unexpected. For example, in her always-evolving Arcane series, the author writes in the past present and future of the same series under her three different author names.

Now Krentz is turning a modern technology on its head as she “double-tweets” a short story. What does this mean for fans? We get to enjoy this Krentz short story told from both her perspective and that of Fallon Jones, the hero of her January romantic suspense, In Too Deep!

The story, which began on November 1st with a tweet from the author announcing that she was headed to Scargill Cove to interview Fallon James, has the pair of criss-crossing and commenting on the other's activities in a highly enjoyable fashion. Our eyes are peeled to see where this tale is headed next!

Check it out now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Amazing E-Vent With Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson are adding a special touch of magic to their new novels, In the Dark of Dreams and Crown of Crystal Flame, which release this week. These authors are not only hosting a joint book signing at Joseph-Beth in Cincinnati, they are streaming the event live so that fans around the globe can participate!

We love Liu for her quirky characters, fast paced action and memorable romances. Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith has nominated In the Dark of Dreams for a 2010 Reviewers' Choice Award. She calls the latest Dirk & Steele adventure, "A terrific concoction filled with choice amounts of danger, passion and betrayal!"

Wilson, a fan favorite, is known for her richly detailed worlds full of adventure and fantasy. Her latest novel concludes the Tairen Song series. Not only did Crown of Crystal Flame receive an RT Top Pick! it was also nominated for RT's November Seal of Excellence.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Griffin and the Story Spark – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bestselling romantic suspense author Laura Griffin shares the moment that inspired her latest novel in her Tracer series, Unforgivable. Although Griffin's heroine may be solving a cold case murder, the pace is fast and furious as Mia, a forensic expert, works to keep her family safe. And don’t miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Thank you so much for inviting me to drop by RT! People often ask me where my story ideas come from, so today I thought I’d talk about that wonderful (and sometimes elusive) thing every writer needs: Inspiration.

For me, the most important source of inspiration is people. I write crime fiction, and because I don’t personally carry a badge or a semi-automatic pistol, I have a long list of experts I turn to when I need help with the details of a story.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Memories With Lisa Plumley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lisa Plumley is ringing in the holiday season this year with not one but two very different new romance novels! The first is the Christmas-themed contemporary, A Holiday Affair, and the second is a trip back to the American Frontier in Mail-Order Groom. But this Christmas-loving author took some time out of her busy schedule to share a very meaningful holiday memory with us. 

Some families take down their Christmas tree on Boxing Day, immediately after Christmas. Others haul their tinsel-sprinkled, crunchy-needled evergreen to the curb for recycling a week or so later. Either way, by New Year’s Day, most families have moved on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: CJ Lyons Chats About Her Final Angels of Mercy Novel - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

CJ Lyons concludes her popular Angels of Mercy series with Critical Condition, the fast paced thriller that is released today! Lyons, who is an ER doctor turned author, talks about readers can expect from the fourth novel in her popular medical thriller series. In Critical Condition all four of the series' heroines are trapped in the hospital with a serial killer on the loose, so this is sure to be another action-filled visit to the hospital. Lyons also shares what her fans can expect next — the author's upcoming series is co-written with Erin Brockovich. And don't miss your chance to win Critical Condition at the end of the interview!

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cathy Maxwell On “Lickably Good” Romance Novel Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We all know that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover — but that doesn’t mean that we don’t! And over the past twenty years romance novels have certainly undergone some very distinctive trends. (They don’t call the romance genre “bodice-rippers” for nothing!) Now best-selling romance author Cathy Maxwell chats about the the covers have inspired her, the trends she loves and the art she covets!

When I visited Dame Barbara Cartland at her country estate (Yes, I did that and, yes, it was totally cool. The trip was organized by RT.), I was impressed by the four hundred plus book covers she had framed and hanging in her main hallway. The Cartland covers had a single, distinctive look. 

I asked her if the same artist had worked with her throughout her career.

She said in her lovely English drawl that the covers were the work of four different artists. “They keep dying on me and I must take on another.” (At the time of our meeting, I believe she was 98 and still writing 5,000 words a day. What a great career she had.) 

And I loved her covers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 11/30/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up Our Aspiring Author Month

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Today is the last day of November and the end of NaNoWriMo for all of you aspiring authors. We are sad to see the month come to a close. Hopefully our month-long focus on writing at The RT Daily Blog inspired you to get lots of work done on your manuscript.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST