RT Daily Blog

Scrapbooking With Series Author Carolyne Aarsen - Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational series romance author Carolyne Aarsen shares how her love of scrapbooking helped her craft her latest multi-dimensional heroine, Beth. Learn how Beth uses crafting in this month's The Baby Promise and enter to win your own copy of this new Steeple Hill romance!

Every time I work on a book one of the struggles I have is rounding out my characters, especially my heroine. Who is she? What does she want? Why does she want it? With my book coming out in January I had a heroine who didn’t trust words. She needed to find another way to express herself.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


RT Website Year In Review

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We had an awesome 2010 on the RT BOOK REVIEWS website. We spent months developing the new site to revolutionize the ways that RT is helping you Read Smarter! After our re-launch in April we began to deliver more specialized genre content, author messages and exclusive excerpts, genre news and interviews than ever before. Here's a look back at the site's "Mosts" for this year!

Most popular genre page:
Everything Romance which includes Historical, Contemporary, Series and Romantic Suspense. The second most popular genre page: Everything Erotica.

Most RT website visitors hail from:
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, India and Germany.

Most sought after book news:
Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series will be made into a movie. 

Most exciting spoiler: 
Myron Bolitar from Harlan Coben’s popular series is engaged!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jude Deveraux On The Scent of Jasmine and Her Upcoming Projects!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jude Deveraux is beloved for her sweeping tales of love and romance. From the early days of the romance genre Deveraux has invited readers to fall in love with people and places all around the world and through out time. Now this bestselling author chats with RT’s Morgan Doremus about what fans can expect from her latest historical novel, The Scent of Jasmine, and gives us a sneak peek at what’s coming next!

Morgan Doremus: After reading dozens of your books, I have tried to find a common theme that links your stories. I think for me, a defining characteristic would be your intricate plots that keep your hero and heroine apart. When you sit down to write a novel, how difficult is it to create this sense of drama?  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BONUS CONTENT: More from the Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child Magazine Article - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the February issue of RT Book Reviews, RT’s Liz French interviewed thriller co-authors Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston about their new series starring a new hero, Gideon Crew. We didn’t have quite enough room to include all the Q&As, but we thought you’d like to hear about Douglas Preston’s adventures in Italy and his involvement in the Amanda Knox case (Knox, an American living in Italy, was recently convicted of murdering her roommate). Additionally, we asked both authors which classic books they simply couldn’t get through and Child especially was very candid. And don’t miss the giveaway at the end of this bonus content from the February issue!

Liz French: Mr. Preston, Tom Cruise’s production company has optioned Monster of Florence. Care to comment? Would you also like to comment about your involvement in the Amanda Knox case and your entanglements with Italian prosecutor Giuliano Mignini? Is it true that you were one of the many persons of interest in the Monster of Florence case?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nancy Holzner and the Epic Battle of Wills in Hellforged - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Nancy Holzner’s latest Deadtown tale, Hellforged, the author pits her heroine Vicky against a book with amazing powers. Now get a sneak peek at the Book of Utter Darkness and a taste of the battle of wills to come. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

Most avid readers can think of a book they consider life-changing. But imagine reading a book that could change your destiny. In Hellforged, the second novel in my Deadtown urban fantasy series, such a book falls into the hands of shapeshifter Victory Vaughn. Vicky must look deep into the past to battle a present danger. And the only tool she has for doing so is an ancient book written in a language she doesn’t understand—the language of Hell.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With T. Greenwood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Known for her heart-wrenching mainstream fiction, author T. Greenwood's newest novel, This Glittering World, tackles the troubling issue of race relations between the Navajo people and the Americans they live amongst in Flagstaff, AZ. When a young Navajo man dies on Ben's front lawn, his search for answers leads him to re-evaluate his entire life. Now the author shares an insider look at This Glittering World in this in-depth interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Where did the title This Glittering World come from? What does the title indicate about your story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Women of Urban Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

There’s nothing quite like an Urban Fantasy heroine. She’s a butt-kicking, attitude-filled force to be reckoned with. One who usually has the weight of the world on her shoulders and a snarky attitude to boot. But there are a few heroines out there who are breaking the mold and keeping the genre fresh. Katherine Katt and Jacinda Valcheck are two of these characters who are leaving their unique mark on readers. Now the authors behind these leading ladies share a special look at their unusual heroines!

 

Katherine “Kitty” Katt, of The Alien series by Gini Koch

The Alien series follows Katherine “Kitty” Katt, the world’s best accidental badass, as she discovers first that the Roswell rumors are true -- with a twist -- and then not only learns that there are both good and bad aliens and lots of life on other planets, but gets involved in the fight to protect this planet. As the series goes on, there's more than just parasitic aliens to deal with, as well as more secrets and conspiracies to discover and disrupt.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Victoria Laurie's Homage To Agatha Christie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Victoria Laurie's newest tale was inspired by the maven of mystery herself, Agatha Christie. Learn how Laurie channeled Christie when crafting the latest novel in the Ghost Hunter Mystery serues, Ghouls, Ghouls, Ghouls.

Several months ago when I was casting about for a new story idea for the next book in my Ghost Hunter’s Mysteries series, I looked to the classics and found fantastic inspiration in Agatha Christie.

Like so many millions and millions of others, I simply adore Agatha. It’s not just that her mysteries are so well plotted; it’s the way she tells the story that I admire so much. With her succinct and easy style her novels are indeed timeless and just so readable...you know? 

I also love that in every Agatha Christie book I read, I find little pieces of myself reflected back in her characters. It’s part of her genius, I think, to show us our whole selves – and not just those bits about us we like. Masterful.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes and Wrongs: Do You do Drive-bys?

BY Shiloh Walker, DECEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Release day for an author is insane. Sometimes you’ve signings set up, sometimes not. Sometimes you’re doing contests, sometimes not. Sometimes you’re constantly checking your Amazon rankings…head desk…why do we do this….

One thing many of us do though on release day is spaz. What is spazzing? Well…it’s wigging out…constantly checking those Amazon rankings, biting your nails to the quick, doing Googles for reviews and wondering why haven’t I seen any reviews? Didn’t anybody like it? Crap…everybody hated it and nobody is ever going to read me again!

This is spazzing.

One way I try to cope with my spazzing is by doing drive-bys. It gets me out of the house, it keeps me from constantly checking the sales rankings…and…hey, it’s promo.

What are drive-bys?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: Allison Brennan Interview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this podcast, author Allison Brennan talks to RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the heroine of her newest romantic suspense tale, Lucy Kincaid. Fans may remember Lucy as the kidnapped teen in Brennan's 2007 novel, Fear No Evil. Today, Lucy is all grown up and is training to become an FBI agent in Love Me to Deaththe first novel in Brennan's new series all about Lucy.

Check out this in-depth author interview to get a special look at Lucy Kincaid, get a sneak peek at some of the adventures she and (fellow returning character) security expert, Sean Rogan, will face in the books ahead and then be sure to test your Allison Brennan IQ with this quiz and giveaway!


Read More>>

Tags: Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST