RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Rachel Caine's latest novel, Ghost Townwas released this week. Ghost Towncontinues Caine's popular Young Adult Urban Vampire series, The Morganville Vampires. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her writing career and popular series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Caine catches readers up with her Morganville heroine, Claire, and discusses her latest adventure.

Rachel Caine On Her Writing Career and Popular Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


SCOOPED!: Featuring McCarthy, Dolgoff and upcoming YAs!

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I track down details about the upcoming Erin McCarthy Fast Track novels, get a reader message to Stephanie Dolgoff and report on what four YA authors are working on! Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post.

Question: Erin McCarthy's Fast Track series are the best contemporary books ever! Hunky guys that race fast cars, what's not to love? I just read Hot Finish and cannot wait to get my hands on the next book - so when will it be out and is there anything you can tell me about the story? - L.Z.

Morgan: Online I was able to find out that the next in Erin McCarthy's series is called The Chase, and it releases April 2011. But L.Z., I knew that that would not be enough to satisfy you. So I went directly to the author for some insider details:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Facebook

BY Shiloh Walker, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-monthly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Full disclaimer, guys.

I hate Facebook. It’s not so bad when I can do my updates through an outside client like tweetdeck, which is generally what I do, and if I can email my responses when somebody writes on my wall—that sort of thing? I’m good with.

But when I actually have to log in? I hate it.

Now some of this is just my laziness—clearing out the friend requests, deleting the event invites that I never mess with, all the applications I have to delete...and of course, checking to see what new and unusual ways Facebook has come up with to invade my privacy—I really liked the one where people could tag my exact geographical location at any given time! (Um, not…I mean, seriously, what in the world????)


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

GiGi Gunn on Cheaters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

"Never Been To Me is by turns gut wrenching and heart warming”, says RT Reviewer Kate Girard. This latest contemporary romance from author GiGi Gunn follows heroine Persi as she transitions from “the other woman” to someone’s only woman. It's unusual to write about cheaters as the heroes and heroines of a romance novel, so we went right to the author to learn why she took on this challenge and get the heroine's take on the five signs a man is wrong (or right) for you. And don’t miss the excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of Never Been To Me at the end of this post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's October Seal of Excellence Winner: Meljean Brook's The Iron Duke!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Meljean Brook's steampunk series starter, The Iron Duke, as the seventh Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its intricate plot and accessible steampunk version of London. 

But why was The Iron Duke awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of October? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Yvonne Navarro On Tri-Memory

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yvonne Navarro's newest release, Highborn, is an RT paranormal Top Pick! that stands out in large part due to her heroine’s unique experience. Brynna, also known as the fallen angel Astarte, has seen everything the universe has to offer, literally. She lived in heaven and hell and has now come to Earth. Now Navarro explores her heroine's "tri-memory" of her three homes. And be sure to catch the excerpt of Brynna’s first experiences on Earth at the end of this post. 

Brynna closes her eyes and remembers:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Richard Paul Evans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Richard Paul Evans is well known for his engaging holiday tales. In his newest release, Promise Me, the author confronts timeless challenges that every family would hate to face, no matter the season. In this revealing interview the author shares a behind-the-scenes look at Promise Me.

 

Your novels frequently include the magic of the winter holidays. What is your favorite part of the season?
I love everything about the season, but, most of all, the generosity of spirit. As Dickens wrote, “It’s the one time of the year that we view each other as we truly are: fellow passengers to the grave…” or something like that. 

That and Egg nog. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Stephanie Laurens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Laurens wraps up her Black Cobra quartet with The Reckless Bride, the RT Top Pick! that hits bookstores today. Now the author shares insider details with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus in this video interview. Laurens discusses how the four concurrent stories take readers all around the world and the special challenges that the fourth hero, Rafe, faces in this exciting conclusion.

Stephanie Laurens On The Black Cobra Quartet conclusion, The Reckless Bride >>

Stephanie Laurens Talks Regency Romance and the Cynster Series >>

Stephanie Laurens Discusses Her "Unforgettable" Heroes >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wes Anderson Short Story Rediscovered!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Acclaimed director Wes Anderson is best known for his films The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore, and the recent hit, Fantastic Mr. Fox. But, what some fans may not know is that Anderson is also a fiction author.

Anderson's written works are much harder to get ahold of than his films. However, this week Analecta, the literary journal of the University of Texas at Austin, posted an original work from acclaimed director on their blog.

Now readers can enjoy Anderson's 1989 short story "The Ballad of Reading Milton".

Fans will definitely recognize the classic Anderson style in this early work. The protagonist in the story, Max, resembles many characters his fans have seen before — a tortoise-shell glasses wearing protagonist who obsessively compares himself with others and always comes up short. As in his other writing, Anderson's story is witty and terse, by turns cerebral and absurd. Only a writer with Anderson's talents can evoke Nietzsche, Plato, Marlon Brando and Jack in the Box all in the same page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 10/26/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST