RT Daily Blog

Lorraine Heath Asks "Can Love Conquer All?"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Lorraine Heath questions the true strength of love after her heroine betrays her marriage vows in this month's Passions of a Wicked Earl.

Can love conquer everything?

In real life, I don’t know that it can. Cheating spouses, spouses who refuse to get help with addictions, spouses with secret second lives, friends who put us down behind our backs, anyone who betrays our trust … can their actions be forgiven? Not easily. Sometimes, not ever.

Fortunately, I don’t write real life. I write fiction. And in fiction, everyone is redeemable, everyone gets a second chance. In fiction, sometimes even the most heinous acts can be forgiven, understood, possibly even cheered for. (Huge Dexter fan here—but let’s face it: The guy is a serial killer. Yet, I cheer for him; I empathize for him. In real, I’d be horrified by what he does.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Carla Neggers Doesn't Let The Cold Get Her Down - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carla Neggers talks about the chilling suspense and frigid weather in the “Cold” stories of her Black Falls series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

Ah, winter in northern New England. The cold, the snow, the quiet, cozy evenings by the fire. We have a fire crackling in the woodstove right now at our Vermont hilltop home! I love the openness of the winter landscape and the stunning beauty of the snow-covered mountains. It's a beautiful time of year…but with nor'easters, frostbite, hypothermia, icy falls and icy roads, it can also be dangerous. The perfect backdrop for my stories. 

In my Black Falls novels, set in a fictional Vermont town, the humans create the drama, but the weather ratchets up the stakes. In Cold Dawn, the latest book in the series, Rose Cameron and her search dog, Ranger, get to warm up by the big stone fireplace at her family's lodge, but the dangers of winter are never far away. The murderous serial arsonist that she and Nick Martini are after would be frightening anytime of year, but the ever-present perils of the Vermont winter add to the tension. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Buy Books And Support The Adult Literacy League!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Catherine Kean on how you can support literacy for adults — become a part of Florida's 4th annual Romancing the Holidays Charity Book Signing!

Do you like reading romance novels? Do you love getting free books and limited-edition goodies from authors? If so, don’t miss the Romancing the Holidays Charity Book Signing to be held Saturday, November 6, from 2-5 p.m. in the center fountain court of Altamonte Mall, 451 E. Altamonte Drive, in Altamonte Springs, Florida. More than twenty of Florida’s best known romance novelists, including New York Times best-selling authors Roxanne St. Claire and C.L. Wilson, will be signing their books during the event that draws steady crowds each year. Barnes & Noble’s Altamonte Mall store, which is supplying the books, will donate 20% of proceeds to the non-profit Adult Literacy League.

Authors Maria Geraci, Dara Edmundson (Romancing the Holidays co-chair) and Maria Geraci


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Beth Bernobich

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debut author Beth Bernobich talks about her fantasy series starter, Passion Play. The story follows teenage heroine Ilse, as she flees home and discovers that the world is a wild and dangerous place. Learn about Bernobich's inspiration for Ilse's strength, how the novel's hero evolved from a minor character and take a peek at the upcoming novels set in this magic-infused world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With the Stars: Voting Extended By One Day!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Attention Readers,

Due to our site glitch on Saturday, we are extending the voting for Writing With the Stars competition by one extra day.

The voting for the first round of the Writing With the Stars competition will now close on October 26th.

If you haven’t already … cast your vote now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 10/22/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barnes and Noble To Split Up Its YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Barnes & Noble announced that the company will be changing the way that it shelves the YA section of its stores, reported Publishers Weekly earlier this week.

The teen fiction that Barnes & Noble carries will now be separated so that two popular sub-genre, paranormal romance and fantasy and adventure, will be have their own shelves within the larger YA section. Additionally, stores displays will now include the top 10 teen fiction best-sellers as well as a selection of spotlighted YA reads. 

The company's V-P of Children's Books, Mary Amicucci spoke with Publishers Weekly, in article on October 21st, about how the change to the company's YA section set-up is purely cosmetic. The actual size of the section will stay the same in all of the stores. So what prompted the move? Amicucci says, "It's really about improving the customer experience."

Learn More >>

Do you think that breaking out the YA sub-genres will improve your shopping experience?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Top Time Travel Tales!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

We have been celebrating parnormal books all month long, but one classic trope has been forgotten until now--time travel. So we asked some of our favorite romance authors what time travel story they like best and here are their answers:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Barbara Taylor Bradford

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this intimate interview best-selling author Barbara Taylor Bradford chats with RT Senior Historical Reviewer Kathe Robin about her incredible writing career. They discuss the author's beloved heroine Emma, the evolution of her popular series and what inspired the author to write about women of "substance".

 

Barbara Taylor Bradford Reflects On Her Writing Career >>

We also got a chance to speak with Barbara Taylor Bradford earlier this month about her October release, Playing the Game, and she shared these details about her newest novel:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Enoch Offers Her Heroine Advice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In Regency England, flirting was more than just a skill, but an absolute necessity. So what happens when a young woman doesn't have the faintest idea how to act in polite society, especially around men? In her new novel, Rules of an Engagement, author Suzanne Enoch provides a woman in just such a situation with some helpful advice. (Including some choice words from the author herself.)

When I began writing the Adventurers’ Club trilogy, it was supposed to be about male explorers, soldiers, men who’d seen the dark places of the world and returned to the even more dangerous land of fancy soirees and Society mamas. The third book, Rules of an Engagement, began precisely the same way, with the adventures of seafaring captain Bradshaw Carroway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST