RT Daily Blog

Go Behind The Scenes Of Liz Carlyle's Latest Historical Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Liz Carlyle's new novel, One Touch of Scandal, blends ancient magic, a heroine framed for murder and undeniable passion. In this exclusive interview, discover how the author researched the novel's Indian influences, peek into the minds of the lead characters and learn Carlyle's rule of thumb for measuring if a relationship will stand the test of time. And don't miss your chance to "comment for a cause" at the end of this post to help Avon and Liz Carlyle support the charity Cat Angels!

RT: In One Touch of Scandal there is a lot going on. High society, murder, mind reading. Is it possible for you to describe the plot for readers in, say, 10 words or less?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/28/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lauren Oliver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Lauren Oliver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author chats about her popular debut novel Before I Fall. Get all of the insider details about Oliver's high school experience, what it was like to write an "unlikable heroine" and how a novel about repeating the same day seven times is really a story of change.

Lauren Oliver On Before I Fall >>

Lauren Oliver On The Nuances Of Being A Teen >>

Lauren Oliver's Advice For High School Teens >>

Lauren Oliver On Her Next Projects >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Christmas Comes Early With Sherryl Woods - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Romance readers know it’s the start of the holiday season when the weather turns crisp and the Christmas-themed love stories start appearing in bookstores. This year, contemporary romance maven Sherryl Woods is at the top of our TBR list with A Chesapeake Shores Christmas. In this exclusive interview we talk to the author about some of her favorite holiday memories and why she decided to return to her Chesapeake series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlan Coben Plays Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Harlan Coben’s debut novel, Play Dead, has been out of print for over 15 years, but tomorrow it is being re-released! Get the author's take on his first novel and find out what's in store for readers in his next novel, Live Wire.

RT: You originally wrote Play Dead over 20 years ago. What do you remember about crafting this novel? Any standout moments?

Harlan Coben: Writing a novel is a bit like having a baby – you block the pain so you can do it again. Like several of my later books, including Tell No One, my goal here was to write the ultimate love story and then blend in stay-up-all-night suspense. You can decide if it worked or not.

RT: How do you feel it stood the test of time? What part of the book are you most proud of? In hindsight is there anything about Play Dead you look back on and want to change?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour In Naperville

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carrie Ryan shares insider details from the Napperville, IL stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Check out all the action as Ryan reports on the latest news from her fellow authors, some of their best trivia answers and other highlights of the event.

When I got an email from Melissa Marr about the Smart Chicks Kick it Tour, I was a little star struck at the list of authors included. These are authors whose books are on my best bookcase, who I’ve looked up and I had a pretty fangirl moment of excitement that I’d now have the chance to meet and hang out with them. And let me tell you -- these are some Smart Chicks who are pretty awesome! 

Authors Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong posing with a fan


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kate Elliott's Alternate Earth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT loves Kate Elliott's newest release, Cold Magic. This unusual science fiction read has RT Senior Reviewer Natalie Luhrs raving,"Of all the alternate history fantasies published in the last few years, this one may just be this reviewer's favorite." Now hear from Elliott about why she wrote an alternate history novel and what makes her story so different.

You may wonder why I wrote an alternate history fantasy when I don’t really read alternate history very much. I wondered, too.

When I think of the phrase “alternate history” I tend to think of novels about “what if,” usually on the theme “what if the Nazis had won World War II” or “what if the South had won the Civil War.” These are not stories that I’m particularly interested in reading. They tend to focus on a pivotal point in history when, say, a battle was lost instead of won or some future Great Man looked the wrong way when crossing the street and got hit by a car, and then the story unfolds from there to see how history would have been different. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 9/24/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your whole week selecting your Made To Order Family?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reports from Authors After Dark 2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

As the editors at RT, we spend most of our time at our desks, typing away and answering phones. So when a conference asks us to come hang out — we're there. We love getting out, seeing readers and authors and getting the scoop so that we can report back to you! And that's why we were more than delighted to head to the Authors After Dark conference, hosted by Jacquelyn Frank, and held in Secaucus, New Jersey last week. 

Savvy readers, who knew the answers to Jacquelyn Frank's tough trivia questions, won books.

There were lots of giveaways!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Caroline Linden's Lady Spy Tells Her Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical romance author Caroline Linden's latest heroine, Angelique Martand, was born a French heiress so how did she become an English spy? Now, in her own words, Angelique shares her story. And after this special message, don't miss the excerpt from Linden's You Only Love Once.

I never meant to be a spy.

It is, after all, a brutal and disreputable profession for a woman, and it would horrify my parents to know what I have become. They did everything in their power to have me smuggled out of France as an infant, just days before they lost their heads to the guillotine in the dark days of the Terror. I do not remember either of them, but I have never forgotten that they were killed for no reason other than the demands of an angry mob. If they would not be proud of me, I hope nonetheless that they would understand why I chose this path.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST