RT Daily Blog

Protecting The Happily Ever After - A Military Spouse Remembers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

On the eve of ninth anniversary of the terrorist attacks of September 11th, Kim Adams shares how romance novels have been a comfort to her while her husband has been overseas fighting in the war against terror.

This weekend, Americans will reflect upon an event that defined our decade and our future. On that fateful day, I was living in Florida with our children while my husband was working in Japan. We watched in horror as the second plane crashed into the World Trade Center. 

But America picked itself up, brushed off the dirt, and went back to work. We mourned the deaths of innocent families and resolved to protect our freedom. The terrorists did not deter America.

One month later, my husband came home for scheduled leave. We attended the Air Force/Navy football game in Annapolis. As the National Anthem was played, a formation of older Navy aircraft flew over the stadium. The older aircraft meant that the newer aircraft were otherwise engaged. The retaliatory strikes began the next day.

One year later, we moved to the Netherlands. My husband worked for NATO and coordinated the deployment of multinational troops to Afghanistan for security assistance. As part of community outreach, NATO personnel asked the international spouses to collect items for Afghan orphanages. I shipped the items donated by the American community except for the paperback books with English text.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 9/10/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your week daydreaming about That Last Night In Texas?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK
Young Adult author Jennifer Lynn Barnes is interviewed by RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan. The pair chat about the author's popular paranormal series starter, Raised By Wolves. Barnes takes readers behind the scenes to share what animal behavior research her werewolves are based on, which character was an unexpected addition to the story and much more!

Jennifer Lynn Barnes on Raised By Wolves >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

So a Vampire, a Werewolf and a Human Walk Into a Bar …

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK

Paranormal author Michele Bardsley brings humor to an often angst-filled genre — the vampire tale.

Vampires, being creatures of the night, tend to be crabby. Lack of sun, you know. Have you ever known anyone who has a great tan to be anything less than cheerful?

Of course, being pale, dead, and on a diet that makes the Fat Flush appetizing would make anyone cantankerous. Maybe being immortal, gorgeous, powerful, and mysterious is just too hard on a soul filled with regrets and the longing to just feel human once more.

Hah. Are you freaking kidding me?

I don’t buy the angst. Unless master vampires are roaming the earth looking for whiners (I’m looking at you, Lorcan O’Halloran, oh guilt-filled one), then it doesn’t make a lot of sense. Granted, humans can be whiners, too, but filling up an eternity with regret is soooo not appealing. After the first century or two, wouldn’t a vampire just get the hell over himself? And who would date a guy (or girl) like that anyway?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Theme Focus: Sisters

BY Whitney Sullivan, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

One of my favorite aspects of YA fiction is the special touch authors use when writing sisters. Teen sisters have a built-in audience for their paths of self-discovery. Big sisters have someone to look out for and little sisters have someone to look up to. And whether a heroine loves her sisters or hates them, part of her character is always defined in relation to them. The relationship between sisters also shapes how they deal with their parents, their friends and even strangers. It is always interesting to watch the complex relationships between sisters unfold over the course of a YA novel.

After finishing Mockingjay, the last of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy — in which heroine Katniss’ actions are all motivated by her desire to protect her little sister — I wanted to continue my “sisters story” reading theme. I was pleasantly surprised when I took a chance on Zen & Xander Undone by Amy Kathleen Ryan (you can read the *Web Exclusive Review* of the novel here). Ryan’s latest novel was a deft exploration of the changes that Zen and Xander’s relationship undergoes as they grieve for their mother.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Roberts, Davidson, Gabaldon and more!

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I go in-depth about Gabaldon's Outlander graphic novel, give you something to read while you wait for the next J.R. Ward and offer some puppy-friendly reading suggestions. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post. 

Question: I just got a puppy that I have fallen in love with. Are there any good romances out there that feature dogs? - M. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Carol Stacy Is Live And On The Air!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Today at 1:00 PM RT BOOK REVIEWS' Publisher and Internet Director, Carol Stacy is interviewed by Cathy Maxwell over at Blog Talk Radio. Learn all about how Carol Stacy has helped keep RT BOOK REVIEWS at the forefront of the genre since 1984.

Tune In >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Fairytale Wedding Leads To Inspiration For A Historical Fiction!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

Learn how author Kathryn Johnson's marriage at sea led her to the inspiration for her new historical fiction, The Gentleman Poet.  

As readers of romantic fiction, we’ve come to expect our stories to end happily, and often with a wedding. But at least one novel I know of started with a wedding, though not the heroine’s. It was the author’s wedding ceremony—mine—that inspired the story.

Let me explain. My husband-to-be and I had discussed just about every possible location for exchanging our vows. His priorities included "doing something creative, fun, different" and not spending a lot of money. My priorities included "a super-romantic setting" and not spending a lot of money. Neither of us, you see, had living parents or many close relatives, so whatever we planned the total cost would come out of our pockets, which weren’t exactly cash-plump. And although church weddings are an absolute for some couples, being married in a traditional venue wasn’t high on our wish list. We also wanted to keep the wedding ceremony intimate and guest list short.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lucienne Diver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK
Young Adult author Lucienne Diver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The pair chat about how Gina, the teen vampire heroine of Diver's Vamped series, evolves in this month's ReVamped. Get the insider details about Gina's unusual way of kicking butt, the unexpected love triangle in this novel and what is coming next!

Diver On ReVamped And Where The Series Is Headed! >>

Read The *Web Exclusive Review* of ReVamped >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TWO MAG-NIFICENT YA GIVEAWAYS!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Check out two YA-friendly giveaways from RT magazine! 

It's a simple question: Zombies or Unicorns? And our "Zombies Vs. Unicorns" contest has the answer! Well, kinda. At the very least, our contest gives you a chance to win a copy of the new anthology Zombies Vs. Unicorns, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, out September 21st from Margaret K. McElderry.

Want to play? E-mail Elissa@RTBookReviews.com with a haiku — in the traditional format of five syllables, seven syllables, five syllables — rhapsodizing about your preferred creature. The winning verses will be posted online on Sept. 21, and will receive a copy of the book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST