RT Daily Blog

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 8/27/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Were you too busy to get online this week because you were helping make Wedding Cake Wishes come true?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tall, Dark and Dangerous: Olivia Drake Discusses The Historical Romance Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Olivia Drake, aka RITA-award winning author Barbara Dawson Smith, has had some time to think about historical romance heroes over her last 26 novels. In honor of her August release, Never Trust a Rogue, the author shares her wisdom about the five kinds of historical heroes and what readers (and heroines) can expect from each type of man.

Man of action, man of steel, master of his own destiny. All these descriptions fit the historical hero, a hard-edged, dominant male who is willing to take enormous risks to protect his property, his loved ones, and his beliefs. Besides being fierce and formidable, he is intelligent, loyal, and quick-witted. Readers can admire his boldness and bravery while living the fantasy of conquering the heart of a warrior prince. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Elizabeth Phillips Invites Readers To A Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Look what we got in the mail:

That's right. We are all invited to Teddy and Lucy's wedding! Thank you Susan Elizabeth Phillips for reuniting us with some of our favorite friends from Lady Be Good, First Lady, Fancy Pants, What I Did for Love and Glitter Baby. Who wouldn't have a great time! That is...

So mark your calendars, the festivities begin on January 18th, 2011 with the release of Mr. Irresistible.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Zoe Archer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Zoe Archer is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about Archer's upcoming series, Blades of the Rose. These globe-trotting paranormal "historical action adventure romance" novels feature the tales of the operatives who protect the magic of the world during the late 1800s. Learn about the types of magic these heroes and heroines are protecting, what inspired the series name Blades of the Rose and why Archer knew she wanted to write heroines who "go out there and kick ass."

Zoe Archer On Her New Series Blades of the Rose >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Foster, Collins, Westerfeld and Cover Snark

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

For my weekly column Scooped!, I scour the Internet, contact authors and pick my fellow RT editor's brains to make sure no reader question goes unanswered. This week, I share what I know about Lori Foster's upcoming series, write up some cover snark and delve into Young Adult fiction. Still have questions? Send them to me here and you may be featured in an upcoming post. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Questions About The New Kindle 3

BY Dear Jane, AUGUST 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane,

was a Nook fan/user until a few days ago when I ran into some really poor Tech Support from B&N. Never had that problem before, but it’s been a month since I’ve used them and it’s degraded a lot to the point of hair pulling. (Customer service seems okay still). Never got my question resolved and had to use another source.

I have the new Kindle 3 pre-ordered. I was sold on the global coverage, and some of the new experimental features it’s sporting. Some drawbacks are that it doesn’t utilize page numbers so I can’t cite material. Another drawback is no library e-books since Amazon doesn’t support EPUB yet. I’m hoping that will change. (Assuming everything is DRM free.)

The Amazon rep said that I had to email all files to be converted by them for use on the Kindle. That’s a pain. Can I get around this using Calibre to convert it myself then sideload? The rep couldn’t tell if the files get converted to AZW or not. I’d like to know what they are converting them to.

Has anyone successfully converted a EPUB (no DRM) to AZW?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jennifer Rardin Is Bringing Book Club Monsters To Life!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Rardin first hit the paranormal scene in October 2007 with her urban fantasy novel Once Bitten, Twice Shy. And now, after six novels with her original heroine, Jaz Parks, Rardin has left behind CIA operatives for ordinary folks  or as ordinary as you can get in an urban fantasy tale. Her newest group of heroes are members of a book club who must band together to fight the monsters that are popping out of their favorite works of fiction. The author is hard at work on her new trilogy, but took a moment to share the details of this new project with us.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: What inspired you to send members of a book club, normally not a group of people many of us think of as being particularly active, into action fighting demons?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rebecca James On The Making Of Beautiful Malice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Rebecca James takes readers behind the scenes for a look at how she created her novel, Beautiful Malice. Learn what made writing this novel such an adventure for the author and don't miss the excerpt at the end of this post!

I started Beautiful Malice with the first sentence. 

Of course you did! I hear you protest. Where else would you start? Isn't that where every book begins? Well...yes and no.  The reader usually starts with the first sentence but the writer may not. Some authors start a book with an idea, a story, a plot, others start with a certain character or two. Still others might start with a place. All I had when I sat down to write was a very vague desire to write about toxic friendships -- and then I wrote the first sentence:

I didn't go to Alice's funeral. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teresa Medeiros On First Impressions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Historical author Teresa Medeiros believes in the power of first impressions. The author shares where she found the inspiration for the daring moment in her latest novel, The Devil Wears Plaid, when hero Jamie sweeps Emma off her feet. And don't miss the excerpt at the end of the post!

I've often heard it said you'll never have a second chance to make a great first impression. That's why I wanted to give Jamie Sinclair, my Highlander hero from The Devil Wears Plaid, a very special entrance into Emmaline Marlowe's life. (And into your life, Dear Reader!) So Jamie ends up being the kilted version of the ultimate wedding crasher, riding his big, black horse through the doors of an ancient abbey just as Emmaline is about to marry the man of her nightmares and literally sweeping her off of her feet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marlene Perez Reflects On Her Four Book Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Marlene Perez stops by to chat about the origins of her fascination with the paranormal and the evolution of her Dead Is series. The newest novel, Dead Is Just A Rumor, will hit shelves today and now you can read the *Web Exclusive* reviews of the entire series. Learn what role Perez's large family played in her writing career and don't miss heroine Daisy Giordano's Top Five Rules for Getting Along With Sisters at the bottom of the post. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST