RT Daily Blog

Kage Baker Remembered

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of Kage Baker's posthumous release, The Bird Of The River, the author is remembered through the eyes of her younger sister, Kathleen Bartholomew.

The lovely RT Web Editor, Morgan Doremus, asked me if I would be interested in recounting some remembrances of Kage Baker's early writing career, and her evolution as a writer. I was stumped at first - an outside view of a writer's internal process is never as enlightening as what the writer says herself; probably, her stories are the best story of all. But I was there through all of it. It took most of Kage's life to become what she was, and since she was a year older than me, it took all of mine, too.

My sister, Kage Baker, was a natural storyteller from her childhood. Our games were all orchestrated with plots from the books she loved best. She told us younger kids stories constantly and with great authority - I remember her sitting on a wet lawn one summer morning around age 8, captivating her audience with descriptions of the worlds revolving in all the drops of dew around us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Simone Elkeles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Simone Elkeles is interviewed by RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi. The author, who just won a RITA award for Best Young Adult Romance at the 2010 RWA conference, is accompanied by the hunky hero from the book trailer for Rules Of Attraction. Elkeles chats about what fans can expect from her next novel and shares a line of the rap music she's become known for.

Simone Elkeles On Her Next Project >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's Day Two On The Road For Jeaniene Frost

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

It’s Jeaniene Frost’s second day of her book tour by train. She brings us an update from her stop in Charleston, S.C. and lets readers know where they can find her next!

Yesterday I was at the Waldenbooks at Charleston, S.C. It was such a neat area, with horse and buggy tour rides going up and down the streets, tons of shops, and enough pamphlets for ghost tours of reportedly haunted locales that it was all I could do not to take a late one after the signing. But, I knew I had an early train to catch, so I was a Good Little Author and went back to my hotel room instead of prowling the Charleston streets in an evening tour group.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Robin Wells Reflects On The Many Vices Of Writers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Robin Wells stops by the RT site to share with readers what exactly goes into writing a romance novel.

I crunched the numbers on my new book Still the One (I love that phrase, “crunched the numbers;” it satisfies my inner nerd and sounds like I ate math equations for breakfast) and here’s what it took to write it:  

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 8/3/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Ruthless by Anne Stuart

"Intelligent characters swirl around a beautifully rendered, complex plot."
    Till Dawn With the Devil by Alexandra Hawkins

"Filled with mystery and desire, Gothic overtones and grand passions, here is a tale Victoria Holt would have loved to have written."
             

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Carole Nelson Douglas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Author Carole Nelson Douglas is interviewed by RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus about her latest Midnight Louie Mystery, Cat In An Ultramarine Scheme, and what readers can expect from the newest novels author's series ...

Morgan Doremus: Louie, your cat protagonist, is very much like Sam Spade - exactly what readers might imagine a private investigator in the noir tradition. Was this done on purpose? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing With The Stars Contest Update

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

We know all of the aspiring authors who submitted manuscripts to Kensington at the beginning of July for the Writing With The Stars Contest are anxiously awaiting their fate.

So how is everyone holding up? Can't sleep at night wondering if you will get to write with the stars of the Brava romance universe? Do you find yourself staring out the window for hours imagining your book on the shelf next to HelenKay Dimon, Mary Wine and Cynthia Eden? Obsessing over getting to meet Emma Lang, Lucy Monroe and Bianca D'Arc? Well, you won't have to wait much longer to find out if you are one of the chosen contestants.

Right now, the Brava editorial team is busy at work narrowing down the manuscripts that they received to just ten. These writers' fates will be decided in the middle of this month when we announce the names of the ten contestants who will move on to the final rounds of Writing With The Stars where eventually one talented aspiring author will win a publishing contract with Brava.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeaniene Frost Reports From The Road

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Paranormal romance author Jeaniene Frost is taking the South by storm, well, by train, on her book tour for Eternal Kiss Of Darkness. The author reports from the rails about what she has been seeing and where fans can find her next!

Yesterday was my first trip to Savannah. I didn't have time to sight-see, but I caught enough glimpses out of the back of cabs that I hope to return soon ... It's a good thing I didn't even attempt to visit the famous Bonaventure cemetery, or I might have spent the majority of last night taking pictures instead of sleeping!

In addition to the wonderful sights I glimpsed of the city, the people were also lovely. My signing yesterday at the Books-A-Million store was so much fun. For starters, the staff couldn't have been nicer, and when I arrived at the store, even though I was a little early, there were already some readers waiting for me. Let me tell you, that was a heart-warming sight for me! :) Two of them had driven all the way from Atlanta, which was quite humbling.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eve Silver And A Date With Dagan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Eve Silver has created a hero who stands out from the legions of vampire lovers and demon dates. Her latest hero, Dagan Krayle, from Sins Of The Heart, is a soul reaper who is making readers swoon. Now readers can see just what it would be like to spend a romantic evening with Dagan ... 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 7/30/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Did you get stuck this week Waiting Out The Storm, like Ruth Logan Herne's Craig and Sara?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST