RT Daily Blog

Francine Rivers On Faith And Family In Her New Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Francine Rivers shares how her latest inspirational novels helped her find answers about her own family's emotional journey toward love and acceptance.

Her Mother’s Hope began my odyssey of seeking answers regarding relationships in my own family, primarily the relationship between my mother and grandmother. Once very close, they were somewhat estranged when my grandmother died. Sometimes expectations get in the way of reality. While examining their lives (through my grandmother’s brief memoir and my mother’s many journals) I saw how they had different ways of living out their Christian faith. Marta (inspired by my grandmother) had to leave everyone and everything behind in order to achieve her dreams. She had her mother’s blessing to do so. Marta’s (and my grandmother’s) view of faith: God helps those who help themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Changes To The E-Book Buying Landscape

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Samhain is consolidating with the online bookstore My Bookstore and More to bring readers more coupons, pre-ordering for upcoming releases and a better book buying experience. We talked to Samhain CEO Christina M. Brashear about the upcoming changes. 

The popular online publisher, Samhain, primarily publishes books in e-book format. The company has been rapidly expanding since it launched 2005. Now they are evolving in a new direction by consolidating their publishing house with the online bookstore that currently distributes Samhain’s e-books, My Bookstore and More. In the past, Samhain has sold their books online via the MBaM bookstore. The online bookstore has been a destination for readers searching for e-books published by a wide range of publishing houses both large and small. But soon MBaM will sell Samhain e-books exclusively. RT caught up with Samhain’s Publisher, Christina M. Brashear, to find out about the changes and what they will mean for readers.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 9/7/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags:
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Jade Lee and PW Blogger Barbara Vey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Jade Lee is interviewed by Publishers Weekly blogger Barbara Vey. The author chats about how how her new release, Wicked Surrender. With this novel she explores Regency London beyond the beautiful ballrooms of the ton. And learn why Lee has wanted to write Wicked Surrender since she was ten years old!

Jade Lee On September's Wicked Surrender >>

Jade Lee and Barbara Vey Chat About Writer and Reader Conventions >>

Jade Lee Shares Details About Her Upcoming Project ... A Graphic Novel Series! >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Virginia Kantra On Teens, Moms, And Unexpected Abilities - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the latest Children of the Sea novel, Immortal Seaparanormal author Virginia Kantra's heroine, Elizabeth Rodriguez, is raising two teenagers and her son, Zack has some unique abilities. He is half fin folk!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 9/3/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Has your job as The Billionaire's Housekeeper Mistress kept you running around all week?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Collins Inspires Mockingjay Madness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

The entire RT office was waiting with bated breath for the release of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games trilogy ender, Mockingjay. We got ready for Mockingjay's August 24 release date with giveaways (of the series starter and series schwag) and reports back from the official pre-release party. We were so excited about Mockingjay that four of the six RT editors already had their copies in hand by 10:00 on the morning of the book's release.

And the RT editors aren't the only ones who rushed out to get their copies ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Advice From Actress Drew Barrymore

BY Morgan Doremus, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

With her flowing skirt, hair in braids and quirky grin, Drew Barrymore is the quintessential free spirit Hollywood actress. I was able to spend Tuesday morning with Ms. Barrymore while she was promoting her new film Going the Distance which is about a couple that is trying to make a long distance relationship work. Drew says this movie is a bit of a departure from her usual Rom Com fare because this is a "dude film." With an R rating, crass language and cast of comedians, Drew says you can expect big laughs, but it may be a bit light on the romance for some. However, this did not stop Drew from expounding on what she finds romantic.

"You have to have joy and spontaneity in a relationship," Drew says. "Also, make plans. Even if it is just about when you will call or go on a date that is enough. It's just too hard to function in a relationship if you can't make a plan."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joan Frances Turner Is Bringing Zombies To LIfe (In More Than One Way) - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Joan Frances Turner 's debut novel, Dust, is a September RT Top Pick! The urban fantasy novel takes a new look at zombies as though they shared many qualities with humans: such as life cycles, a system of beliefs and vulnerabilities to man-made viruses.

We are seriously digging the old school Public Service Announcement-themed videos the author is running for the book's September 7th release. You can check them out below:

Parents Who Eat Brains Have Children Who Eat Brains >>

This Is Your Brain For Breakfast >>

Friends Don't Let Friends Eat Friends >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jenna Petersen On "Getting Physical"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jenna Petersen discusses why she considers sex such an important part of the romance novels that she writes. And don't miss the excerpt of her new release, The Unclaimed Duchess, at the end of this post!

Thanks so much to RT for asking me to write a few words on a topic that is quite near and dear to my heart. See, I’ve always liked a sexy romance. Give me the “good stuff”. And that’s always what I’ve written, whether under my Jenna Petersen name or my erotic romance name, Jess Michaels. But for some reason sometimes people seem to discount a sexy romance and somehow less valid or emotional because there is… horror of horrors… sex in it. Like somehow that cheapens the relationship, especially if sex comes before love.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST