RT Daily Blog

Lisa Samson On The Power Of Fear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

With her new novel, Resurrection In May, author Lisa Samson challenges readers to face their fears. Samson explains why she chose to write about an American female missionary's experiences living through the genocide in Rwanda during 1994 and shares the story of the single real-life American missionary who did the same.

Improbable? Maybe. Impossible? Definitely not. In Resurrection In May, May Seymour, living at a mission in Rwanda, hears the invective on the radio against the Tutsi. And still she loves. She hears the gunshots coming closer. And still she loves. She realizes the monstrous forces bent on destruction are just outside the door. And still she loves? Really? Is it likely an American would have stayed in Rwanda during the genocide that took almost a million lives in 1994?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Karen White Comes By To Answer RT's Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Karen White, the author of this summer's mainstream novel hit, On Folly Beach, caught our attention with her vibrant characters, detailed settings and "clear, sweet voice." So the author kindly agreed to by and answer our questions about her research process, the evolution of her writing and what a "Karen White" heroine is. 

RT: On Folly Beach follows a multi-decade story. What techniques did you use to make history come alive?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Stephanie Dolgoff

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2010 | PERMALINK
Blogger, magazine editor and non-fiction author Stephanie Dolgoff shares her hilarious take on being "just the other side of young" in her new novel, My Formerly Hot Life. Dolgoff has stopped by to chat with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about how being "formerly hot" is a state of mind about all of life's transitions.

Do you feel so strongly about a cleaning implement that you have recommended it to your friends? have you been ma'amed on several occasions when you were not in the Deep South? Do you inquire about the availability of parking at your destination before you agree to go? If you answered yes to any of these things then you might be formerly hot.

Stephanie Dolgoff Chats About Being Formerly Hot >>

Stephanie Dolgoff On The Benefits Of Being Formerly Hot >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 8/17/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Series Romance


Read More>>

Tags:
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Why This Must Be The Place Was Awarded The July RT Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Kate Racculia's debut novel, This Must Be The Place, as the fourth Seal of Excellence recipient. This mainstream novel captivated our editors with its quirky characters and profound message.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Two Signed Series Romances!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT Executive Editor Faygie Levy had a great time at this year's national RWA conference. While she was there she collected several signed novels so, even if you weren't able to attend, you could still get in on some of the conference goodies. The first pair of novels you have a chance to win is two series titles: The Longest Night by Cindy Dees and Hidden Pleasures by Brenda Jackson

To celebrate this giveaway, we caught up with Brenda Jackson for a series-sized peek inside the author’s head. See what she has to say about Hidden Pleasures and what series romance fans can expect from the author next!

RT: What's something you love about the process of writing for series (or category) romances?


Read More>>

Tags:
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Elizabeth Hoyt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Elizabeth Hoyt stops by to chat with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author, who is best known for her historical romances set in the Georgian period, has just released her latest novel, Wicked Intentions. Learn all about Hoyt's preferred ways of researching and some of her favorite historical facts!

Elizabeth Hoyt On Doing Research >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.A. Jance On Her Mystery-Writing Origins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of her new release, Queen Of The Night, mystery author J.A. Jance shares her path to publication, the true-life mystery that inspired her to start writing and details of the original novel that held the title Hour Of The Hunter.

 In the mid-Sixties, I spent five years working as a school librarian on an Indian reservation, the home of the Desert People, now known as the Tohono O'odham Nation. During that time my first husband and I encountered a serial killer and ended up being stalked by him for sixty days before he was finally apprehended. He was imprisoned for murdering three people and is still in prison to this day.

I had always wanted to be a writer, although I wasn't allowed in the Creative Writing program at the University of Arizona in 1964 because, as the professor told me, I was a "girl." All of which goes a long way to explain why I became a librarian.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor! Hunger Games (Schwag) Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We're getting awfully excited for Mockingjay, the trilogy ender to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games, which comes out August 24 from Scholastic. So when the FedEx delivery man showed up with a giant box with a Hunger Games logo on it, we're not too proud to tell you, we did a happy little jig. And though we had dearly hoped that inside that box was a copy of Mockingjay, instead there was something (nearly) as good, that we'd love to share with you. 

Take a look:

Lots and lots of Hunger Games treats, celebrating a new Facebook game:
The Hunger Games: Training Days.

We've got charm bracelets, brooches, bag clips. 

Bracelets, bookmarks!

T-shirts!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 8/13/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your week trying to keep track of your Bundle Of Trouble?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST