RT Daily Blog

How Deployed U.S. Troops Celebrate The Fourth - And How Readers Can Give Back

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

source: Kim Lowe

Baseball, hot dogs, apple pie and fireworks! July 4 is the pinnacle of summer vacation, bringing families together to celebrate our nation’s Independence Day. Military personnel in far-flung places will also celebrate July 4th, although it may not be the traditional barbecue. I asked Tamara Argyle — a Navy surgeon, avid reader and aspiring author — about her holiday experience while deployed to a remote location in Afghanistan. Tamara shared that the international coalition was used to shelling overnight. But the insurgents rocketed them all day on July 4th, thus requiring them to wear full body armor even in the mess tent, giving new meaning to:

And the rocket's red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.

They were rewarded with a special dinner hosted by the Australian contingent who staffed the mess tent. Tamara enjoyed steak, corn-on-the cob and watermelon, bringing a little taste of home for the US troops.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

In Bed with the Devil by Lorraine Heath

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

One Lucky Night by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

There Are So Many Romance Ebooks On Sale Right Now

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

There are so many ebooks on sale right now, we can't fit them all into our Cheaper By The Dozen post for tomorrow. So we're starting ebook sales early this week with a look at what romances readers can score right now for less than $3. All prices were discounted at the time of this posting.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The King-Off: J.R. Ward's Wrath and Tiffany Reisz's Kingsley Face Off

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

This year, two highly anticipated romance novels titled The King release(d) — The King by J.R. Ward, which released in April, and The King by Tiffany Reisz, which comes out in December. This got me thinking, what would happen if Wrath and Kingsley met? Kingsley would probably try and have sex with Wrath, and Wrath likely wouldn't let him. (Someone please write that fic.) I doubt Beth would be into it either. And this of course would turn Kingsley on even more. My weird book fantasies aside, let's compare Wrath and Kingsley:

The King by J.R. Ward

 

 

The King by Tiffany Reisz

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Loose Id Is Giving RT Readers A 20% Discount For The Month Of July

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

An image of a sexy man in glasses that reads 'Everyone knows that smart is sexy. Indulge that glorious brain of yours, get unleashed!'

We're enablers here at RT, and we're more than happy to keep your book-buying addiction going strong by bringing you as many deals and discount codes as we can find. This month romance ebook publisher Loose Id is making things easier by offering RT readers a special discount code. Valid from July 1 through July 31, readers can get 20% off their total purchase by using the coupon RTUNLEASHED. The coupon is good for two uses per person. Their titles are already reasonably priced (most of them are less than $8, with many in the $4-5 range), so 20% off is just the cherry on your massive ebook-hoarding sundae. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Heliogabalus by Antonin Artaud  

"Heliogabalus was born in an era when everybody slept with everybody” and he’s the hero of this era: he leads every extreme to its peek and dies in the war between men and women, because "it’s not the coitus but death [...] of which all these religions reveal the imposing, evil figure".

Plot: Elagabalus was born a priest, becomes god-emperor and dies in the sewers. 

Rating: 89 out of 100 

America by Vladimir Mayakovsky


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Genre Fiction Power Couples

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week I wrote about some of genre fiction’s power couples, and the response was great. So many people reminded me of couples I missed, or told me about couples I didn’t know about. Today, I’m bringing you more genre fiction author couples who share both a life and a passion for writing.

Nico Rosso and Zoe Archer

A photo of Ilona and Gordon Andrews

source

Nico Rosso and Zoe Archer both write romance, usually with some sort of supernatural edge. Steampunk romance, paranormal romance, historical romance with paranormal elements — between the two of them they’ve got it all covered. Most of their work is done separately, but together they penned the Ether Chronicles (Zoe wrote 3 in the series, Nico wrote 2), a western steampunk series. Currently, Nico is in the middle of his erotic, paranormal Demon Rock series, while Zoe is working on her Nemesis Unlimited novels.

Clay and Susan Griffith

A photo of Clay and Susan Griffith


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's The Best Book Cover Of The Month? Take The Poll!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

We had fun culling through the book covers from all the books releasing this month. But which cover will you vote as the very best? Last month you chose Unmasking Juliet by Teri Wilson. Will another contemporary romance cover catch your eye, or will another genre prevail? Take a look at our top ten covers of July 2014 and cast your vote in the poll at the end of the post!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Razed by Shiloh Walker

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

When Shiloh Walker released the cover for her upcoming novel Razed, the second in her Barnes Brothers series, our Web Director Elisa had a moment. With such a gorgeous cover, it's not hard to see why. And in today's Cover Breakdown, Elisa shares her thoughts on the squeal-worthy new cover. Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 7/1/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

WITH THIS RING

"The notorious Worthington clan returns for the third time, much to readers’ delight. This wonderfully eccentric family brings mayhem and madness to new heights."

THE CAPTIVE

"With sensitivity, compassion and tenderness, Burrowes tackles the deepest meanings of her title: physical captivity, emotional captivity and the captivity we create for ourselves."

THE ESCAPE

"Tender, touching and mature, Balogh’s story slowly unfolds, reaching deep into the characters’ emotions demonstrating how love empowers, heals and redeems."

BRIDE OF A SCOTTISH WARRIOR

"This extremely moving story, in which the entrancing, honorable characters grow throughout the tale, will captivate readers. Bride of a Scottish Warrior is an impossible-to-put-down read!"

UNDRESSED BY THE EARL

"Familial support and discord coexist in this exceptional work. Subplots and loose threads lead to the eagerly awaited conclusion of the quartet."

THE GENTLEMAN JEWEL THIEF

"...[Peterson] peppers the Hope Diamond series starter with steamy love scenes, wild escapades and a laugh or two. Peterson keeps the pace flying and readers hanging onto their utter joy."

THE WICKEDEST LORD ALIVE

"Brooke’s lively, quick-paced story follows a classic plotline, but with a gothic twist, undercurrents of sexual tension and a lovely cast of characters, this charmer is designed to bring warmth to your heart."

WHERE THE HORSES RUN

"This beautifully rendered love story is tough and tender — just what Warner’s fans have come to expect from this gifted storyteller."

HOW TO LOSE A LORD IN 10 DAYS OR LESS

"Michels deftly combines banter with touches of poignancy, and she includes sexual tension and a dangerous threat in this compelling third installment of The Tricks of the Ton series."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST