Support Diverse Books this Pride Month!

Another June, another Pride month! This year we are honoring the 48th anniversary of the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan. It’s both an amazing and sobering time to reflect on the successes of our community. We hope you got your celebration on this month, but don’t forget to focus on what you can do to support LGBTQ+ books and creators. One easy thing you readers can do? Read! 
 
By read, we of course mean buy and support diverse books and diverse authors. And then recommend your new favs to all your friends! Here at RT we got together to pick some of our favorite books that fall under the LGBTQ+ umbrella. We’ve got something for everyone, from historical romance to science fiction and fantasy. Take a look, and get your reading list together!
 
An Unseen Attraction by K.J.Charles 
K.J. Charles’ latest historical romance trilogy, Sins of the Cities, has two great books out so far. Book one, An Unseen Attraction, has two heroes you’ll fall in love with, just as they fall sweetly in love with each other! Clem’s story is particularly gut wrenching as his difficult relationship with his family (due to his British father and his Indian mother) pushes him to the breaking point. Luckily, he learns who his real family is. Buy: Amazon B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play
 
Lickety Split by Damon Suede 
We love Damon Suede, and if you’ve read his books or visited us at the RT Booklovers Convention where he emcees Cinema Craptastique, then you do too! Damon’s latest is a steamy contemporary romance called Lickety Split — yay cowboys! Patch Hastle ditched Texas for glamorous NYC, but when his parents pass he has to return … and get rid of the farm. Unfortunately for him, his father’s best friend, the handsome Tucker Biggs, is still in charge of the Hastle farm and doesn’t plan on pulling up roots. These two have a lot to “discuss.” (Wink!) Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo Google Play
 
A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson
If fantasy is what you’re feeling, then sink into A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson. This book is utterly delicious with beautiful prose and captivating imagery. Our hero Aqib bgm Sadiqi has a lot on his shoulders as the son of the Master of Beasts and fourth-cousin to the royal family. He’s expected to marry well to elevate his family, but his heart is immediately plucked by a Daluçan soldier named Lucrio. Aqib and Lucrio’s tale of love and loss (and gods and magic) is a wonderful read. Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play
 
Idyll Threats by Stephanie Gayle 
Don’t worry, we didn’t forget mystery fans! Stephanie Gayle brings us the Thomas Lynch series, and book two is coming out this September. Book one, Idyll Threats, chronicles the summer of 1997, when Thomas Lynch arrives in Idyll, Conn., to become the new chief of police. The unfortunate death of a local girl makes for a theoretically easy case — after all, Thomas saw her mere hours before her death. Unfortunately he cannot reveal what he knows, because at the time he was meeting another man for a one-night stand. Thomas needs to be careful, and Gayle’s mystery will keep you guessing! Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo 

Bound with Love by Megan Mulry 
More historical romance means picking up Bound with Love by Megan Mulry. You'll fall in love with Lady Vanessa Cambury and acclaimed portrait painter Nora White. These lovebirds have built a home together and raised two children from Vanessa's first marriage. Everything is content ... until Nora learns that the child she thought she lost may be alive and well in England. Her heartache, and her daughter's resentment of the mother she thought abandoned her, threaten to tear apart her happiness. But this family pulls through and becomes stronger for it. Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo 
 
Bad Boy by Elliot Wake
Elliot Wake’s work is raw and explosive, and Bad Boy is no exception. Definitely check out Wake’s other titles like Black Iris and Cam Girl for information on the vigilante group Bad Boy’s hero is part of. Ren Grant is a popular trans vlogger by day, but by night he helps Black Iris right wrongs. Unfortunately, his personal life is imploding, and Ren will discover who his real friends are, and who are toxic dangerous drains on his life. Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play
 
The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden
Do you prefer sci-fi or fantasy? How about both? Nicky Drayden delivers both in heaps in her debut novel, The Prey of Gods. Perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Lauren Beukes and Neil Gaiman, this novel takes place in a futuristic South Africa where a new hallucinogenic drug is affecting humans in surprising ways. You’ll find lots of demigoddesses, sentient robots and touching stories of self-discovery in these pages. Plus, Drayden has awesome musical tastes! Check out our interview hereBuy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play
 
Beast by Brie Spangler 
We love books with classic fairy tale leanings, and Beast is no different! Our main character Dylan is taller, meatier and hairier than most other fifteen-year-old kids. Unfortunately this makes him a target for bullying at his high school. When he’s sent to therapy for self-harmers, he meets Jaime — who is incredible! Jaime is also real with him and never lets him be self-pitying; but Dylan doesn’t know she’s transgender. These two friends — and maybe more! — have a journey to go on together, and Dylan has a lot to learn. Buy: Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Google Play

It looks like you have a lot of reading to do. For more, check out our LGBTQ tag.

*This post contains affiliate links. If you click an affiliate link and purchase an item from the vendor, we receive a percentage of the profit (even if you don't buy the item we've linked to). Thank you for supporting RT Book Reviews!

Tags: